Skip to content

How Much Love?

August 12, 2011
by

When I tell the kids to eat their vegetables they always ask how much. They want to know what size a serving is and often times they try their best to eat as little as possible. Kind of reminds me of the story about the Good Samaritan.

The expert of the law came to Jesus and wanted to know what a follower of God was about. As I mentioned in my previous post, he understood it was love God, love your neighbor. But here is what I find interesting. After the answer that he gives, he isn’t satisfied. He asks one thing more. “Who is my neighbor?”

Like my kids with vegetables, who are you talking about? Can you give me a short list? People on my street? Close friends? Who is my neighbor?

I also love the fact that it is the religious on their way to worship God that simply pass the man by. Religious people wanting to keep the laws of God but to busy to stop and help. They probably had hit their help quota for the month. Helped someone last week. This week is for my family.

People think I get a little obsessed with this love your neighbor thing. They are right, I do. I see injustice and I say what can God’s kingdom do. No I’m not trying to earn my way to heaven by helping others, it is the very fact that I am not asked to that compels me to be a light for the character of God.

How about you, how much is enough? A turkey around Christmas and Thanksgiving? How much neighbor love is enough?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

