Skip to content

A Third Way: Agenda

August 25, 2010

It looks to me like we allow the culture to set the agenda. It seems that we allow our world to set the talking points and tell us what is and isn’t important.

At best the church today looks reactionary. At worst it looks week and confused, dependent on the world to give us something to talk about.

I am still confused about how a mosque being built in New York City became a Christian issue. Who cares? What bearing does it have on me in my neck of the woods? Does it keep me from worshiping Jesus? Hinder me from loving my neighbor? In fact I can’t think on any impact at all that is has on my Christian faith.

So why does everyone expect you to have a position? For or against? My thought would be let the government’s issues be the governments, I will allow what concerns God to concern me.

But Darin, it is a great affront to the United States of America. So what, I don’t know if you have noticed but there is already a lot going on in America that has to be an affront to God.

Why do we allow our culture to set the agenda? Why do we fixate on what doesn’t matter?

I try to picture the early church surrounded by pagan worship feeling some obligation to work for the government to close every none Christian institute. The reality is when that did finally happen in the Roman empire it wasn’t a good thing. Why can’t we see that?

I can almost hear them now, “That place of worship is just to close to where Jesus was crucified.” Don’t go to them, yes, hope they close down, sure, but spend their time with that as the objective? I don’t think so. I think their idea was if we share Jesus and live as light reflecting Jesus the buildings will take care of themselves.

Instead Christians allow talk radio and our culture to set the agenda.

Am I the only one who gets jittery when they call it holy ground? The burning bush was holy ground. Mount Sinai was holy because God was there. Are we really comparing these places?

I wish we would allow the main thing to stay the main thing. The third way would be to follow our own agenda, letting people know that the building of a mosque in New York City has no bearing on our ability to love our neighbor and does nothing to dampen the free gift of salvation extended by Jesus Christ.

Rush Limbaugh is not an apostle. I’ve never read anywhere that Sean Hannity is a prophet. I’m just saying…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 3:05 am

    Love this! I’m sending the link to friends, too 🙂 Take care, Paula

  2. August 29, 2010 12:46 pm

    Amen!!! May God give your voice much increase!

    Grace and peace,

    Rex

  3. August 30, 2010 11:15 am

    Very well said.

  4. August 30, 2010 4:55 pm

    Thanks for the feedback everyone.

Trackbacks

  1. So You Want to Take America Back?!? « Coffee Please

Leave a Reply

