Skip to content

A Third Way: What Would Jesus Do?

August 24, 2010
by

To me it seems that many of the discussions we have today in Christendom are controlled and led by our culture. This is something I struggle with. Why do we allow our culture to set the agenda? Have you ever stopped to think about this fact?

I try to imagine Jesus coming and allowing the Pharisees to set the agenda. Would you say that Jesus allowed the Pharisees of the day to set his agenda? How about the Roman authorities? The beauty of Jesus ministry is that while he answered the questions of the Pharisees he often did so with questions of his own. Not only that, but he often times answered questions that were not even being asked.

I remember many years ago when I worked in advertising being asked about drinking and whether or not Christians could do that. Unfortunately I allowed my friend to set the agenda. Jesus has greater concerns for his children and Paul says that the kingdom isn’t about such things.

Instead we discussed Jesus turning water into wine and the commands to not be drunk. All very true but probably not what the person needed to know. In many ways the conversation reminds me of the wealthy man who approached Jesus wanting to know what he needed to do to be saved. Jesus didn’t allow him to set the agenda and eventually shined a light on the man’s love of money.

Why do you think we allow this to happen? Is it fear? Is it a lack of confidence?

I personally think we can witness this phenomena often in the church today and I wonder why we don’t fight harder for a third way because I do think it is Jesus way.

Hopefully we will be able to continue this discussion in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

