Skip to content

Politics

August 6, 2010

I received an email from Focus on the Family today. Obviously with the recent ruling in California as it relates to Proposition 8 Focus on the Family wanted to encourage people to get more involved than ever in politics.

Here is where I struggle. What politics am I suppose to get involved in? What movement or who am I suppose to vote for? I called Focus on the Family and asked. Here is why I felt I had to ask. The judge who made the decision, Federal Judge Vaughn Walker, was nominated for the bench by both Ronald Reagan and eventually put on the bench by George H.W. Bush.

So do you vote Republican because they tell you they will stop all of this nonsense? What do you mean? The nonsense being decided by Republican nominees to the court?

So I receive an email that insists that I get more involved in politics and yet I can’t figure out who to get involved with since both are causing all of the problems.

And people wonder why I stay out of politics.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason permalink
    August 6, 2010 11:39 pm

    I totally agree! My take is that they are all corrupt. The people on either side that want me to get involved do it to increase their own power base. I’ve told several people that get hot and bothered over politics that God never called us to try and change our government… Only call people to Him. If God wanted us to be involved in politics then where do you EVER read of Jesus (or the apostles for that matter) calling people to expend efforts getting involved in politics. The Roman government would have been an excellent place to start! Political activism for Christ? Don’t think so. Focus on your own family and stay out of mine. Stop telling me how I should vote your way.

    J

  2. August 8, 2010 3:27 am

    Right on target, man!! I love F on the F, but when it comes to the political issues, they only cloud the water. I generally vote independent. And I really like Jason’s comments.

    • August 8, 2010 11:30 am

      Warren, thanks for adding to the discussion. Jason you too. Hey I picked up one of your books that was at Silver Maple. How much do I owe you?

  3. August 12, 2010 3:20 pm

    Man, I think Paul would have been so confused if he had gotten that email!

    • August 17, 2010 7:30 pm

      love the picture on your blog. I have been away for some time. Thanks for the comment. I have continued to be confused with several organizations.

      God bless and thanks for stopping in.

  4. Jeff Davis permalink
    January 10, 2011 3:20 am

    Hello Darin. For someone who claims to stay out of politics, you sure write about it a lot on your blog. It’s been awhile since I’ve read through your postings and I was surprised to see the variety of positions you take. Good for you. It’s nice to be able to state a position, isn’t it? Even a position of wanting to have no position at all. I respect that. I don’t always agree with your ideology, but appreciate the fine work your church family is doing in the community. Thanks.

    • January 13, 2011 12:51 am

      Jeff, Thanks for stopping in. I’m not sure what you mean but thanks for sharing. I think there is an attempt to stay consistent but you never know how ones views might change over time.

  5. January 13, 2011 9:10 pm

    Hello, WHEN I realize you, in the event you visit Romania you then have a light beer by me: ) Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

