Skip to content

Worship

July 25, 2010

Here is where things get interesting. Talking about baptism or the Lord’s Supper and my past is easy. Nothing has really changed. I appreciate the emphasis from my Christian heritage.

When it comes to worship some would say it is radically different. To that I would say yes and no. I still appreciate my heritage and the emphasis on simple worship. I think that has been a great blessing. Too much of Christian evangelical worship is about entertainment and making people feel good instead of inspiring believers to action.

But how you inspire, well that has changed a great deal. In fact, this is the one area that I am the most thankful doesn’t resemble my past. I love the freedom to experiment and work towards motivating, inspiring, and connecting believers with God without having to worry about offending or bothering someone and their conscious.

I love being able to sing without instruments because we do, but not worrying either way because we can sing with accompaniment. I love not working within a false construct that says there is something wrong or sinful about using instruments because there isn’t.

No, recently I have been reminded of how much I appreciate and enjoy this fact. I was giving a presentation when without thinking I showed a video with a Chris Tomlin song in the background, “God of the City.” A great song that connected to the video and yet as it began I thought, “Wait, I didn’t ask if this would be okay.”

I also put together some video intros for a Church of Christ camp my children attend. I had this idea to make them like old silent pictures. I started to put in the classic piano music that really brought out the idea when I realized someone might have a problem. Thankfully I found a good a’capella song that worked.

Still, in both cases I had so many extra issues to think about that had nothing to do with will this motivate and inspirie.

I love my heritage and the emphasis on simple, congregational worship. Trust me the church at large could use more of that. What I don’t miss is having to worry about who I might offend each week when I try something new.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 3:51 pm

    This may sound a little strange, but I went through something similar a few years ago about hand clapping during songs. I told someone, “I’m not that interested in clapping during songs. But I want to be somewhere where it’s not considered a sin.”

    I feel the same about instruments during worship. To me, it’s not about whether or not they are used; it’s the “salvation status” applied to their use that I can’t stand.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim Archer

  2. July 28, 2010 5:36 pm

    It is so strange though because even with this people make assumptions.

    In talking with a close friend from my Church of Christ life he said he just had an issue with instruments in worship and didn’t think he could do that. I said no one is asking you to do that, just not think a person is no longer a Christian because they do.

    Maybe it is the Church of Christ thinking. He seemed to assume that since I we had them we would attempt to get everyone to have them and nothing could be further from the truth.

Leave a Reply

