Skip to content

Counter Culture: Me

May 20, 2010

If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. John 15:19

Whoa, do you think? Can we be counter to the culture of me? I want to finish up talking about the culture that starts and ends with self. It corrupts every corner of our world, the me focus, and not only does it corrupt the world we are so focused on self that we have a hard time noticing.

The mother who abandons her family for more “me” time. The dad who needs to be who he is and so his children never even see him.

Me is everywhere. Certainly exists in church. That music doesn’t work for me. You even hear it from time to time as it relates to giving. Give “your” money. As preachers we can even find ourselves sucked in. “Pastor, that was really good for me.” “I got my weekly fix.”

It is the attitude that I can give an hour or day here or there but the rest of the time is mine to do with what I please.

Think about it as it relates to our view of freedom.

Paul wrote a lot about our freedom in Christ. I often hear it celebrated in church today as license to make it more about me. The sad truth is the freedom we receive is actually from the belief that it is all about me. The freedom we have been extended is a freedom that should make it more about others. We have supposedly been set from the sin that got us into this great mess. Don’t you want to be like God, isn’t it all about me.

I would love for the church to grab onto and become counter to the culture of me.

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.

You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love. The entire law is summed up in a single command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”

Galatians 5:1, 13-14

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dustin permalink
    May 20, 2010 5:28 pm

    Great post. It is very easy to get sucked into the “me” syndrome. What do you suggest has to happen to get the focus off of “me”?

  2. May 23, 2010 1:35 pm

    I am working on a series related to this question to come. I would appreciate your feedback as always.

Leave a Reply

