Skip to content

Counter Culture: Mundane

May 18, 2010

If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. John 15:19

I want to be counter to the culture of ordinary, mundane, average. I want no part of a world that is ho-hum and yet that is where we live.

Come on you know we do. Could we be counter to such a culture? As I sit here I realize how much of my life is wasted on average and mundane. How many hours spent? How many days with nothing to show? I think I need something to talk about with others and yet I can’t remember the time I had a conversation with a non-believer about American Idol.

Lord help me to counter the culture of mundane. To instead seek a culture of adventure and accomplishment all for God’s glory.

I’m going to give up one show and replace it with something extraordinary. Time spent focused on my children, praying and reading the Word. One hour calling people who need encouragement. That one mundane hour repurposed for God’s glory. That is what I’m going to do. One show, one hour a week, here is to being counter cultural.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

