Skip to content

SGtoDC: It Really Isn’t Rocket Science

April 21, 2010

Have you ever heard that one before? My Advertising Design professor Michael O’Keefe used this adage from time to time. don’t make things complex. Don’t over do it. So in honor of Mr. O’Keefe, well really in honor of God but we will make Mr. O’Keefe feel good as if he ever reads my blog, we will begin our practical application with simplicity.

Ready? If I could just get a drum roll please. Ask God what you need to do. No really, get down on your hands and knees and say God, what am I supposed to be doing to move your Kingdom forward.

I said it was simple. Well simple in theory I suppose. Instead of reading the latest book, I have shelves full, ask God. Instead of going to the conference to see the latest trends, ask God. Before I get much further I need to say something here. I’m typing this on my iPad and it is just to cool. That really wasn’t what I needed to say but I couldn’t resist throwing it in.

I love reading books. Even with what I’m saying I will still buy and read about what is being done for God’s glory. There are two reasons to do this. First, God might inspire you with one of these books. Something they say or do might be just what God wants you to read. Maybe your next outreach or ministry is in one of these books. My point is not that they are not useful, I purchased my first one for my iPad today (I’m sorry I just can’t help it). The point is just don’t copy or feel bad because you can’t seem to copy everything right. Instead make sure the super cool idea in the book lines up with God’s plan for your life. Exactly, we are back to ask God.

The same goes for conferences, lectureships, and one of my favorites, workshops. They are important and I love them. Go and be inspired just make sure God is giving the directions, not the latest greatest fad. So ask God.

I personally think we have grown dependent on gimmicks and copycat church. Why? Because we think they work but do they really? Depends on what you call work. Remember the church in America is shrinking. Remember that if we are really working we are doing God’s plan for our life.

Can we talk about some ministry that worked? I think you will pick up on a theme.

Moses Ministry- Called to lead God’s people out of Egypt. A success. got the idea when God called to him from a burning bush.

Jonah’s Ministry- Called by God to preach repentance at Nineveh. After a rough start, success. Got the idea when the word of the Lord came to him.

Paul’s Ministry- Called by God to bring Good News to Gentiles.

I want you to know, brothers, that the gospel I preached is not something that man made up. I did not receive it from any man, nor was I taught it; rather, I received it by revelation from Jesus Christ. 1 Corinthians 1:11-12

You can’t get much more called than Paul. blinding light flashes from heaven and a voice calls your name.

I know it is cheating to use the Bible on this but I really think we should. You understand these are not isolated incidents or one of a kind events. The Bible is filled with people answering the call of God.

I get that for some people the Christian journey is not about listening to God’s direction. They are all about copying a pattern or something, but that is not you. You are not someone who thinks God no longer directs his people. You understand that under every law and covenant God was there directing His people. You want to make a difference in the world. You want to be God’s kingdom on earth. So just ask.

Ask something like this, “God where do I need to be and what do I need to be doing?”

A few tips that might help. Find a special place. The quieter and more out of the way the better. It seems that God often grabs people when they are away from the hustle and bustle. Moses often connected up on mountains. Paul known as Saul was traveling. You get the picture, you know the stories.

So you get away, then you ask God and then you believe. the tug that said it is time for a new ministry. The gut feeling that you were meant to stick it out. You believe. I know of too many people who feel the pressure to take the bigger, higher paying, higher profile job because that is what you do. Is it? Is it really what you do? Didn’t God take Elijah to a little village for three years? Wasn’t Joseph a slave and in prison?

I worry that too many Sicilian choices have closed our ears. We should measure success by faithfulness to the call. Instead we measure it by systems and statistics. Do we ever even stop and ask if this is what God called us to do? Have I mentioned that the church in America is in decline…..

No comments yet

Leave a comment