Skip to content

SGtoDC: Get Out the Vote

March 29, 2010

I wanted to ad this post last week but things got in the way. Well, one thing got in the way. And I guess it isn’t really nice to call it a thing. It was the Tulsa Workshop. Just so you know, the workshop is at a .org not a .com. If you try .com you get this. Just another quick side trip. I always called it the Tulsa Workshop to shorten the name but am I the only one that now that it is official misses the Soul-Winning and International parts of it. Well, I digress since that has nothing to do with what I wanted to discuss.

I wanted to talk politics. You know donkeys and elephants, or maybe more accurately shoots and ladders or better yet Candyland because for me that is where most of them live.

This may be one of the largest, biggest, ugliest, least questioned Sicilian choice in the church today. Talk about the fact that both cups had iocane powder. Too many Christian Viccinni’s running around trying to determine the best choice. You see they can’t say right choice because they know neither has it all right.

Seriously, when did the economic well being of a country become a Christian duty? Whenever someone has to sell something as the lesser of two evils something is wrong. Have we not noticed that in the equation both sides are evil? So do you want to die by shotgun blast or an atomic bomb? Sure one sounds worse but in both cases you are dead.

It became very clear to me last week when everyone was lamenting the passage of health care reform. The local paper called to get our thoughts since our church helps the uninsured locally. We see the impact of health costs every month. We know personally the hard working men and women who do their best but still can’t pay for their medicine. You can talk about rights and obligations all you want but the system is broken and a part of the problem is the current system. It doesn’t reward the smart use of resources. It doesn’t encourage keeping the costs down.

Now you are probably ready to let me have it, to explain how it will bankrupt the country. How it does nothing to repair many problems that have created the current one. I get that, but here is my point. I have no dog in health care reform and up until this passed we WERE helping the uninsured. We didn’t need any government to intervene.

That is the deadly false choice. That we are some how beholding to either side. That we must choose and guess what, out here in the middle of the Bible belt not lining up with a certain political party is a great way to be an un attractional church.

You got it, the next way to be an unattractive church is:

A great way to make friends and influence others in the current Christian climate is to point out the problems with both parities. To decline to be a pawn for either side. To let people know neither is the way.

I know I know, we like to be on the side of the winner. We love to point out the bad things the other is trying to do. Why can’t we just point out the good the kingdom of God is to be doing? Why can’t we be content with knowing Jesus did win. He conquered death on the cross and told us to reflect this fact to a world around us today? Why can’t we happy to be on His side? Why allow someone to drag you in to their fight?

I can’t tell you how many people accuse me of being a liberal simply because our church aids the widow, orphan and poor. That in and of itself should be a heavy indictment for the church today. The other side has an issue with our social stance on homosexuality and abortion.

But guess what, we don’t need either side, but just be warned, people think they have to pick one. Choose A or B. A great way to be an un-attractional church is to say neither.

When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.
1 Corinthians 2:1-5

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

