Skip to content

Passing the Torch: David Lewis

March 4, 2010

The year was 1991. I was a long way from God. I was chasing after meaning in life, fun, trying to live it up. Or so I thought. I moved home before my last year of college to save some money. I took a job with a local farmer to drive a tractor and run a combine during harvest.

Our house was only a few blocks from the St. John Church of Christ. It was a short walk across a field each Sunday morning. Bible class at 10:00 and worship at 10:45 followed by a potluck.

When John Dobbs suggested that we share a minister who influenced our faith I had mixed feelings, and yet God used everything to mold me into who I am today.

The summer of 1991 was the summer I hit bottom. It was the summer I cried out to Jesus. I will never forget going down front during the invitation that last Sunday in July. Everyone knew. Everyone knew who I was and what I was doing. I remember going forward and being greeted by our minister, David Lewis.

Things changed those last few weeks before I returned to college. David Lewis preached in a way that I had never heard before. I will never forget his sermons on grace and forgiveness. To this day I remember some of his stories. His gentle spirit and love for the Lord impacted me.

I began a journey that summer and David Lewis was right there for me, helping and encouraging. Today I am a minister of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I can only pray that I pass it on.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 12:23 am

    Precious Memories and Amazing Grace. I too have both, thanks for sharing.

  2. March 4, 2010 2:28 am

    Thank you for sharing Darin … I’m so glad that we are brothers … accepting the same grace and loving the same Jesus. God bless you!

  3. March 4, 2010 2:57 am

    Thanks for this, Darin, and thanks to John for leading me here.

  4. March 4, 2010 3:53 pm

    Thanks for the comments.

    JD, it is a bittersweet memory. He preached at the community Thanksgiving service that year and well…it just makes me sad.

  5. March 4, 2010 10:08 pm

    You have encouraged me to keep preaching the gracious love of Jesus with your story.
    I sincerely thank you!

Leave a Reply

