Skip to content

Who sets the Agenda?

January 13, 2010

In the church today who does? How do we determine who we are and what we are to be about? How doe we decide what is most important? Does it seem like the church is often getting its agenda from the world? From the Republican Party?

Does it seem that the church often plays the Burger King to the world’s McDonalds? Does it seem that the church just wants to present a tastier version of what the world is looking for? Is that okay? Is that really a problem? I mean is that what the kingdom of God is about? Showing a better way to find what the world is looking for?

I ask because I have been reading through Daniel as I enjoy my fast. It is hard to avoid Daniel and his friends refusal to conform to Babylonian culture. I am eating vegetables for lunch today because Daniel refused to defile himself with the king’s food or with the wine that he drank.

Sure I understand that this was because the food was unclean either because of the type or its use in pagan worship. I get that, but how much do we simply copy or indulge on the secularist culture of our day with nary a thought?

Daniel has the courage, the love of God, to risk everything to stand up for God. I don’t know, I wonder what would happen today. I wonder if in an attempt at friendship evangelism we wouldn’t go ahead and eat, thinking it would give us a greater chance to share the message of our God. Think of the power and influence that would come with accepting the Babylonian agenda. The irony of course is that because of his stand God favored Daniel with Babylonian influence.

I can almost hear Daniel today deciding to work within the confines of the Babylonian political system. Sure some things were not right but hey what about the alternative.

No Daniel went with God’s agenda, he didn’t wait for the culture of his day to set it. I wonder if we are willing to do the same.

So this Daniel prospered during the reign of Darius and the reign of Cyrus the Persian. Daniel 6:28

Do we think the church will prosper any other way?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

