Skip to content

When the going gets tough…

July 1, 2009

Are we willing to deal with adversity today? Are we willing to do what it takes to survive and even thrive in hard times? Have we become soft?

Is our natural response to hard times a why me or is it who better than me? When we deal with difficulties is our first response to wonder if God has abandoned us or to believe God is strengthening or shaping us?

“Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.” 1 Corinthians 9:25-27

I love what Paul has to say. He says I beat my body. That is serious stuff. He goes into training and training is hard.

What can we do about it?

First, ask yourself if you are soft.
Our culture has conditioned us to believe it is supposed to be easy and comfortable.

Second, get angry. Yes, get mad. Get mad that you have let yourself go. Recently I realized I have put on a lot of extra weight. Without some anger at what I was doing to myself there was no way I was going to change. Too many people look at their spiritual life and recognize it isn’t right but just shrug their shoulders as if somehow it will just get stronger on its own.

Finally, set a goal and hold yourself accountable. With my weight I weigh myself every morning. I know that last nights cheese fries were not good. Because of that I have to be more diligent today. Spiritually it is no different. If I have lost my seriousness for the cause of Christ I need to think about that before I have traveled to far from God. I know of to many people who are far from who say they don’t know how they got there. It was a gradual thing.

How about you? Would someone compare your spiritual journey to an intense physical workout or would they say it was more like watching TV?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

