Skip to content

Advice

May 14, 2009

Who do you listen to? I like to get peoples opinions. At times this can seem like weakness or the inability to make decisions but for me it is just wise.

A story from the Bible that helps me is the experience of Rehoboam as recorded in 1 Kings 12:6-15. Rehoboam abandoned the counsel of the old men for those he grew up with to disastrous results. The kingdom is split and war followed. Rehoboam did not follow the ways of the Lord.

You see I think there is something to be said about seeking wisdom from an older generation. When we only talk the ideas of those our own age who think like us we limit our options. We limit the view that we see. You get more angles when you ask more people. Those who have gone before us might be able to expose some limitations in our thinking.

I think we have to be careful. It is too easy to write off those who have come before. Certainly Paul told Timothy not to let anyone think less of you for your youth but that was in the context of setting a good example. I don’t think he was saying don’t listen to others counsel.

In the end I do agree that a younger eye is needed, just not at the expense of taking advice from those who have gone before.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. John-David permalink
    May 14, 2009 5:52 pm

    There in lies the tension: when someone’s worldview doesn’t match with yours, what do you do?

  2. May 15, 2009 4:12 pm

    Rehoboam’s experience isn’t universal but maybe it is wise to listen to those who have been around the block a few times more.

  3. May 15, 2009 5:39 pm

    I would say something…but too close to your age!

  4. Wendy Simmons permalink
    May 18, 2009 12:50 pm

    I certainly have made this mistake myself more than once. When you are a young adult, you think that you know better, and maybe even do the opposite of what your parents or other elders advize, thinking you are proving a point, but in the end, you are cutting off your nose to spite your face, as the saying goes.

  5. May 19, 2009 1:40 pm

    Thanks for the comments Wendy and it was nice meeting you and your family.

    I know exactly what you are talking about. I have learned much from my mistakes of not listening.

  6. J D permalink
    June 6, 2009 5:19 pm

    I listen to you!

  7. June 9, 2009 2:48 pm

    John, how are things going? Thanks for coming by and I appreciate the compliment.

Leave a Reply

