Skip to content

Dispensationalism, my final thoughts… for now

April 16, 2009

I do think you can see how this dispensational idea developed.

In the 1700 and 1800’s the church was a mess. Division was rampant and people thought there had to be a better way. I get that, it makes sense. You can see it happening today. So what did they do? They decided to go back into the New Testament and discover just exactly what God wanted from His people. Too many creedal ideas. Couldn’t we all agree that the Bible was the inspired word of God?

What better way to unite?

I can also see how people going back into the text would work to find answers to how things should be done. Okay, I understand that, but was it true? Was this dispensational pattern that they sought really even there or was the thesis off from the beginning? Were the seeds simply sown for more and greater division? Was there really a way to know without an explicit dispensational list of just exactly what was and wasn’t in?

I don’t think so. I don’t think so because it was never true. Did it help people organize their thoughts? Did it give people a way to explain things? It seems to have. If people put their faith in Jesus Christ and place their hope in him would it matter? I don’t think so. Our faith is in Jesus not our ability to figure everything out. No, I don’t see anything wrong with trying to figure things out and being wrong because we all are. I do have a problem with dispensationalism because in the end it isn’t true or an accurate way to tell the story. I do think that matters. I do think that it should be dealt with.

People argue what is and isn’t a part of this dispensational pattern all of the time. One side says the list is short while the other says it is long. I wish all could see that the entire thesis is false. The early church was not a part of a new dispensation, no it was and is a part of one that is very old.

If only we could agree to disagree while keeping to our conscious on what is and isn’t acceptable. The fear seems to be that people will do anything without some dispensational pattern. The reality is many decisions are made without clear example and people have still managed to be conservative Christ-centered believers loving God and neighbor.

Will it be perfect? What is? Jesus was perfect for us so why do we spend so much time demanding perfection to an invented dispensational idea?

Children of Abraham arise and unite behind Jesus our King. The child of the promise. Hosanna, Hosanna the King lives!

What I wouldn’t give to erase dispensational thinking once and for all.

God bless.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 7:18 pm

    Darin,

    Sorry I’m so late in responding to these posts, but I really appreciate what you had to say about dispensationalism. I especially appreciate what you said about the church’s development over time, which IMO was gradual, and should still be happening. Everything isn’t fixed and nailed down under the New Covenant because it never was. Ethics are eternal and in a sense have never changed. But the notion that God replaced one ritualistic legal code with another is absurd. If we could be saved by law keeping, the Law of Moses would have been sufficient. The whole Old Law/ New Law thing is ridiculous. Some of the rituals have changed but we’re not under a new dispensation, which as you have shown, would not only render the Hebrew Scriptures null and void, but much of the New Testament literature as well, i.e., the power of the Holy Spirit.

  2. April 21, 2009 9:27 pm

    Wade,

    Thanks for coming by. It is an honor to have your words on my blog. I hope things are going well with the transition. I know it has been crazy for you in many ways. I admire your willingness to keep charging forward.

    I wish this point was understood by more people.

Leave a Reply

