Skip to content

Make a Day

April 8, 2009

We have our Elders meetings on Tuesday morning at Panera Bread. It is a much nicer experience than doing it in my office. The meeting runs for around two hours from 9:00 a.m. until 11:00 a.m. I customarily get some coffee to go as we leave at 11:00.

bread
This week I happened to notice a group of four mature women sitting at a table. I felt compelled to stop over and say hello so I did. I asked one of the women if I could have half of her sandwich, she looked like it was going to be more than she needed. She told me that would be fine. Well you know I wasn’t taking the sandwich. Her friends assured me that she was the type of lady who would gladly give me the sandwich.

It was at this point that they informed me they had come to celebrate her 82nd birthday. Eighty-two years on this earth and a good friend. Well, I thought that sounded like a really good reason to celebrate so I offered to sing her Happy Birthday if she would like. You have to know that I didn’t want her to say yes. I thought she would decline, I could congratulate her and then move on.

Well she said that sounded great. So I was stuck. Not in a bad way because I would do it and was going to do it but just stuck in that I had hoped I wouldn’t have to do it. So we did. I called for everyone’s attention in the Panera. I checked with the startled employees behind the counter, “I can do this can’t I.” I received the okay and so I began to belt out Happy Birthday to my new 82 year-old friend.

When I looked back she had tears in her eyes. I know you are thinking it was my singing. Thanks a lot. No, I’m pretty sure it was because it was special, out of the ordinary.

Make someone’s day today. Buy them an ice cream, give them a card, or a $5 gift card. Do it because this week is Easter.

Oh, and be reminded that someone sings over you.

The LORD your God is with you,
he is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
he will quiet you with his love,
he will rejoice over you with singing.”

Zephaniah 3:17

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

