Skip to content

I’ll Sacrifice for You

February 1, 2009

By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers. 1 John 3:16

Sacrifice. We know love because of sacrifice. Is that what comes to mind when you say “I love you.” If you inserted sacrifice for in place of love would it be true?

I was thinking about this recently as it relates to my wife. I’ll be honest. I married my wife because I enjoyed being with her. We had a blast and I was extremely attracted to her. I loved being around her and when I said I loved her that was really what I meant.

But that isn’t good enough. My commitment as a Christian isn’t simply to stay with my wife because I enjoy her company or even that I find her attractive. In the end the commitment I made to her says I will sacrifice for her, I love her.

That is the commitment that pushes me threw when things aren’t going well, when I don’t enjoy being around her because those times come.

I have to ask myself, am I sacrificing for her. I often find that I’m not, that I’ve gotten a little self-absorbed in our relationship. I’ve thought more about what she gives to me then what I give to her.

I am forced to ask myself if I am meeting her needs, sacrificing on her behalf.

What would happen in our relationships if we heard in I love you, I sacrifice for you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

