Skip to content

Delegating or Dumping?

January 13, 2009
by

How do you tell the difference? I struggle with delegation in my life because it feels like dumping. There is something I don’t want to do so I hand it off to someone else. You may wonder why I worry. Well I have this picture in my head of Jesus washing the disciple’s feet. A times I wish I could erase it but the when Jesus told his disciples that their leadership shouldn’t look like the worlds I get a severe case of, “Did I just dump that because I didn’t want to do it.”

How about you? What are your thoughts on delegating versus dumping? I mean it has to be done. AT times I have too much to do and it makes sense to give that to someone else. Does it have to do with what we give? Let me know what you think.

I often times give away something better to do something worse. People don’t often get that even in the church. They don’t connect that you are just trying to be like Jesus. I have had people think less of me because I took the lower task.

Guess what, that shouldn’t surprise us. The disciples wanted the best seats in the house. They argued about who was the greatest.

That doesn’t make it okay to dump. Yes, we should ask people why they think we did the lesser job, do they really think it was because we didn’t think we could handle it? But just because people don’t get it, they never did, we can’t just dump on others.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 6:56 pm

    One of the many dilemmas of church leadership. Seems like the Corinthians looked down on Paul because he had lowered himself. When that happens to us, I think it’s important to give it some sort of explanation, like the one we call 2nd Corinthians. The church should get it, but often they don’t. So serve, but be sure to teach about it too.

Leave a Reply

