Skip to content

Do You Believe?

January 8, 2009
by

Most people I know believe Jesus when he tells them what he will do for them. So they believe that he will save them. They believe that he loves them and will protect them.

When Jesus says “I will never leave your or forsake you” we believe. When he says, “If you love me, you will obey what I command” I’m not sure that we are sure about that one.

When he says “If anyone makes an attempt to keep his life, it will be taken from him, but if anyone gives up his life, he will keep it.” or “But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first” or “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me,” those are some things Jesus said that I’m not so sure we believe.

What do you think? Is it true? Do we believe EVERYTHING Jesus said or just what he has to say that relates to helping me? When he asks me to act upon his love do I believe those words?

I admit that I grew up in a denomination that seemed to only focus on the second part of belief. They believed in what Jesus said about obeying commands and doing. I understand that wasn’t healthy but is only focusing on what he says he will do for us any different? Is it any healthier?

Balance is the key, appreciating all of what God said.

How is your balance? Do you tend to only believe in what Jesus said he will do for you?

What can we do about this? Here are my thoughts.

We should ask ourselves about how we approach the Bible. Do we read just the “I’m going to save you” parts or do we read the commitment parts? God promised to deliver Israel from Egypt and He did but what did he do after the Red Sea crossing? He told them what they needed to do. “Now if you obey me fully and keep my covenant, then out of all nations you will be my treasured possession. Although the whole earth is mine.” If they believed in God he expected them to believe everything He said. Do you have a balanced study life?

How about your church? Does your church tend to only focus on belief in what God promised or do they have a balanced approach? If they only focus on what you must do that is wrong but it is equally wrong to only focus on belief as far as what God has done.

Third, think about your prayer life. What do your conversations say about what you believe about God? Do you ask for help in obeying or getting things done sacrificially? Do your prayers usually make requests of God?

I think if we look at our lives and do some critical self-analysis we will find out what we really believe.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim Sexton permalink
    January 13, 2009 5:36 pm

    I feel the call to more passion and for a balanced belief that your last 2 blogs address… I recently read at another blogger’s site his call to challenge the reader to consider what Jesus meant when he reminded us to “Love God with all our Heart, Soul, Mind and Strength…”

    Many of us get pulled in to the Mind (study, further study, get the Greek right, rightly dividing the Word, etc…) part and when it comes to the Heart, Soul and Strength we come up lame. Passion for God needs to far exceed one’s passion for a football team, or a hobby, or things along those lines.

    Many of us have become unbalanced because we are so committed to getting it right that we have no energy left to passionately pursue that which we have found to be right.

    Jimbo

  2. Jim Sexton permalink
    January 13, 2009 5:52 pm

    The blogger is Keith Brenton and his blog is called, “Blog In My Own Eye”… the message came from early December and was called Heart, Soul, Mind, and Strength if I remember correctly. Just wanted to direct you to the source of what I was remembering.

    Jimbo

Leave a Reply

