Skip to content

Church in Hard Times

December 15, 2008

joblessTake a look at this article in the New York Times.

In some ways this is related to the mental discussion I have been having recently about how we build our churches, what focus do we have and direction.

I have been thinking about this a lot these past several weeks and I need your help. When I hear about these tough times my initial thought was what can we do to help people out. What will we need to do as it relates to food and other items for those in need.

This article brings up another way of looking at our current situation. How do we minister to those impacted by job loss. They may be searching for answers when they find that money can’t buy hope.

I tend to think of it only in the first light. How will we serve those impacted. What resources will we need. What should we do with our Higher Up Job skills training. I see needs in the world and I want the church to impact them. The reality that has hit me is that it isn’t either or. Yes we can plan on ways to help those in need but we should also prepare to embrace those who are devastated and without hope.

I’m not a fan of the second without the first but the first approach can’t really be effective without the second.

What is your church doing to prepare for those in need?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

