Skip to content

Oprah or Jesus?

December 4, 2008

Seriously, who has more impact in the church today? Oprah or Jesus? Are the values that Jesus expressed those that guide us or are the more in line with a woman from Chicago?

Have we went back into the Bible to show where what Oprah teaches comes from God without realizing that she is also setting the agenda for much of the church today? Would you say she really isn’t?

Jesus had an agenda and to be truthful it seemed in many ways to be in contrast to Oprah.

Is there anything in conflict between the views? Do you see conflict between self betterment and self-sacrifice? Is it self story versus becoming a part of God’s story? Am I wrong? Please explain if I am. What are your thoughts?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2008 9:03 pm

    Ummm…. Jesus. I don’t know what churches you are going to but I’ve never heard much about Oprah other than that she’s a kook. lol…

    http://TheEvolutionofGod.wordpress.com

    tim

  2. December 5, 2008 2:43 am

    I have never heard, even once, Oprah being mentioned as a role model or someone to base anything on. Not that someone has said it, I simply haven’t heard anything.

  3. December 6, 2008 5:19 pm

    My point was not that people literally say Oprah but that her impact IS felt in the church today.

    The self help movement in my mind is one of those results. A focus on self in everything even when doing good.

  4. December 8, 2008 11:11 am

    Ah, I see your point now.

    The best phrase I ever heard about that was a play on the “I’m OK your OK” book. It was an image of Jesus on the Cross saying “If your OK and he is OK, then why am I up here”?

    We humans have to realize our imperfections if we are to ever grow, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

