Skip to content

Republican Party

November 11, 2008

An interesting blog post on our recent election and what it means to the Republican Party or at least what it means to this blogger.

If you can’t effectively run a pro-life message in a place like South Dakota, what makes you think you can ever form a majority in the rest of the nation? It’s a dangerous gamble to bet on a more religious America in the future, I only see this country trending more and more in the opposite direction.

Take a look at the entire post and let me know what you think.

It seems that after the loss of John McCain some Republicans think becoming more like the Democrats is the answer. I think this is a great reminder as to why placing your hope in a political party is wrong. Their goal in the end is to get elected and the values they champion are optional depending on location. Mitt Romney was a prime example of this. He understood what a Republican needed to be in Massachusetts versus the rest of the country.

Does this mean our country will fall further morally? Well if we have not noticed that is already taking place. The answer from at least some Republicans is not to work to stop this slide. The answer from at least some is to jump on the wave so that you can get elected.

My question would be then what? If you are going to govern like a Democrat with the same values why should I care? If you’re not going to stand up for what is right but just try to get a vote what difference will it make? The letter after the person will be different, an R instead of a D, but if the R stands for everything the D does what has been gained?

And people wonder why I don’t want anything to do with the Republican Party. When will the church realize it needs no political party to make a difference in the world? It needs no political party to carry out its agenda. Do we understand how week we make our God look when we depend on people who flip flop with the wind?

Do we understand what it says about our belief in the power of the resurrected Savior?

When will we get off this band wagon and become the church?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 6:40 pm

    I have thought about how many republicans have been in power: Reagan, George Bush, Gearge W Bush and Roe VS. Wade hasn’t cahnged. I wonder if the republicans use the Abortion issue to get Christian voters. I personally believe that Obama is going to be a great president.

    Darin thanks for this post and dealing with this topic!
    I hope you have a great week brother. Brother I want you to know that you and your family are always in my thoughts and prayers. I pray for you when I wake up and go to bed. I want you to know that you blog has been such a blessing in my life.

  2. November 12, 2008 11:12 am

    I have come to the conclusion that the Republican party is using the Abortion issue as a ‘bloody shirt’ and simply is not going to do anything about it. It is too valuable to get Christians to vote for them. For nearly thirty years I have voted and worked for Republicans expecting things to change in that one area at least, and when the Party controlled the White House, Congress, and the Supreme Court (yes they are a majority appointed by Republicans) they didn’t lift a finger to change anything. I have read about parties doing this before in other places and times over various subjects, and I don’t think any one could convince me that the Republicans are not doing it now. That being said, I no longer have ANY confidence that Republicans will fight abortion. None at all. Just like Lucy and the foot ball, but I am not so foolish as to continue kicking it for them.

    I am beginning a rethink of my involvement with the whole ‘Christian Right’ political idea. It has been monumentally disappointing to me. Do politicians that are supported by the Christian Right live open, holy lives? It doesn’t appear to be the case with me. I see too many politicians living dark lives, full of hidden sins, while they openly proclaim faith in Jesus and gather our votes, then forget us once they get into office.

    I do not think Christians should exit from politics, quite the opposite, but when did it become OK to not act like Christians when we operate in the political world? How is it that we Christians can be on board with lying about an opponent, using fear and arrogance, knowingly making untrue accusations, forwarding emails that smear our opposition, all with the idea of forwarding the Kingdom? Whatever happened to humility and not bearing false witness? Is it
    OK, just because the opposition does it? I never permitted my kids to do that, just because their friends did!

    The very REASON we have Sen. (now Pres. Elect) Obama in a national office is the collaspe of Republican Jack Ryan’s Senate campaign in 2004. He was caught up in a ghastly sex scandal with his ex wife having pressured her to have public sex. Hardly something I would expect from a candidate from MY party.

    I will remain Republican, but I no longer ‘believe’ in them.

  3. November 12, 2008 3:53 pm

    Why does there have to be a “Christian right” and “Christian left”? Why can’t we just be believers of Jesus Christ and do what we can to follow Him? I think it is aweful for “Christians” to make other Christians feel guilty in the way they voted. I hate labels and I know Jesus must as well. Wouldn’t that fall into avoiding godles myths and controveries? Would it even fall into causing desention among brothers? I know I want tbe the kind of believer that does all I can do to build up the body of Christ. I am going to throw out labels with the garbage. I pray every believer will do the same.

  4. November 12, 2008 7:55 pm

    Thanks everyone. Great thoughts M-i-T.

    Preacherman, you say something very profound when you ask if these are controversies.

  5. November 13, 2008 11:00 am

    Thanks, Darin.

    Preacherman you are right, the Christian Left (rising these days) will be just as flawed as the Right ever was.

    Follow Christ, and Him crucified.

Leave a Reply

