Skip to content

Your Story

October 17, 2008

As I mentioned I have been reading the book Branding Faith by Phil Cooke. To be honest I’m not sure why I purchased it. I was actually put off by the title. Of course Mr. Cooke deals with this at the beginning of the book.

I will just say this, I’m glad I have stuck with it because the book has gotten better and better as I have read. One thing that has really hit me is his discussion of our personal story. Cooke says it is essential that ministers understand and share their personal story. The story that says this is why I am the way I am.

I have thought a lot about that the past few days and I agree. I have actually ran away from my personal story. I worried that my personal story would color the work I am trying to do. I didn’t understand that my personal story can’t help but color my work.

So, I have sat down to better understand my own story. You see I have a passion for the marginalized, the outcast, those who have no one. I work at a church that wants to impact our community. All these things happen for a reason. They are all colored by my experience.

How about you? How has your story shaped your ministry? Passion? Life? I recommend that you pick up Branding Faith, I know that I have been blessed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2008 1:49 am

    So, what is your story? I’d love to hear it.

    jh

  2. October 20, 2008 5:12 pm

    I posted the story that probably had the most impact on me. I just have not found it. I will keep looking.

Leave a Reply

