Skip to content

Love Yourself First?

September 29, 2008

Have you heard this council? Where did it come from? Recently I sat down with two people on two different occasions and each time they had this basic idea. What do you think? Is it accurate? It seems that we have taken the words of Jesus to “love your neighbor as yourself” and came up with this idea that the bulk of our work should be learning to love ourselves properly.

How did this happen? You see I think Jesus knew that we already loved ourselves. We didn’t need to learn that. It is evident from the first infants cry of I want what I want when I want it.

Now I understand that people struggle with understanding God’s love for them and that struggle can leave them missing something, but how does that become love self and maybe you will find some time to fit some love of neighbor in?

Can someone explain this? In each instance I have tried to steer them into understanding that living in God’s love is what matters, that this allows us to love others because we need nothing else.

I don’t know. I have just ran into a lot of I’ve got to get loving myself right before I can do anything. Maybe I’m wrong, help me out. Is this a problem? What do you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

