Skip to content

Is there hope?

September 27, 2008

I will be honest, I’m not really worried about our culture. No, it has been in a slow spin for quite some time. The more we remove God the more things slide. No, that doesn’t surprise me. What worries me is the American church.

I have been reading Ezekiel this week preparing for a message series next year and I have to admit it makes me uncomfortable. Why? Because Ezekiel is sent to God’s people to call them out.

God’s people are called obstinate and stubborn. Ezekiel is warned that they may not listen but it doesn’t matter. God tells Ezekiel that he is being sent to a people who should understand the language, people who should understand what they are being told.

God has much to say to Ezekiel at the beginning of the book. I wonder what he would say to us today. I wonder what His words would be. Does the church ignore the holiness of God assuming he will always ignore our apathy? Do we not think we are apathetic?

I was reading about a church today that was celebrating the building of a new steeple. It is going to be really high. It was a really big deal. A steeple. Is that really what should get us excited? I don’t know. God hasn’t spoken to me like Ezekiel. Maybe it is not as bad as it seems.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 27, 2008 4:11 pm

    Wow that is sad. Maybe they’ll be closer to God to hear him laughing at them.

Leave a Reply

