Skip to content

The Next Step for Hands and Feet

June 11, 2008

Recently I sat down with the editor and owner of a Christian newspaper. We discussed many different topics but when we hit on one that was close to my heart, I really got going. I think you can recognize someone’s passion by the way they talk about it. I began to talk about the church and the call to be the hands and feet of Jesus.

To make a long story short, the owner and editor of the paper has given me the opportunity to contribute a column to the paper entitled Hands and Feet.

It just seems like another step in this journey of giving ideas away and connecting like minded people.

Keep me in your prayers because writing for a paper, keeping focus and building on ideas is something I need to work on. The biggest hurdle is where do you start.

Knowing me and what I do and what I love, how would you introduce such a column?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2008 8:46 pm

    with a story of being the hands and feet of Jesus.

  2. June 11, 2008 9:29 pm

    Thanks. 🙂

    Tell me this, do you think this idea has reached the heart of church today? Do you need to explain it or just get people excited abou it?

    Thoughts.

  3. June 12, 2008 2:03 am

    well, this will take a few lines. About 12-15 years ago we were lucky enough to be a part of a church that was trying to be missional before that was a word. The slogan we adopted was “We want to be the Hands and Feet of Jeuus in Jackson” Jackson being the city we were in. So to me the idea has been brewing for a long time. And when we moved we ‘preached’ that to lots of people. (that was in a very traditional cofc) It seemed that of the people that went along to any degree they were doing it with a hook. They would help as long as we were working towards getting them to church. Or if they came and stopped the help stopped. A great adventure in missing the point.

    All that to say I am sure it hasn’t reached many people’s hearts. But seeing it, in person or through a story I think is a much greater teacher than stating why we should do this and here is what I mean. As you know, stories get into people’s hearts and open them up for the Spirit to teach many times way more than we intended.

    So I am sticking with “I bet you’ve got some great stories to share”

  4. June 12, 2008 2:45 am

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

