Skip to content

Three Times

May 29, 2008
tags: , ,
by

I just returned from a funeral. My cousin died in a tragic accident in Kansas last week.

Three different times in conversation I talked about the thoughts we had on John the Baptist. When I typed that post I had not heard the news. I received it while traveling to visit someone in jail. I almost had to pull over. The story is so tragic that words do not express the shock.

I was able to spend time with his older brother, a close college friend and to talk with the family. Three times I talked about John the Baptist because what can you say when someone pulls to the side of the road to be safe and they stop in the path of danger?

God bless you all. I am going on vacation and will not be back until June 9. I have three books to read. One is Do Hard Things, I’m thinking of teaching it with the teens, Walking with God by John Eldridge which I hope to read with my wife, and Life’s Healing Choices by John Baker. He is the gentleman who started Celebrate Recovery. I am excited about learning more. My Uncle who is a believer who struggles with alcohol and sexual sin has started one at the church he attends.

So much to do while I finish up. I didn’t expect to miss the entire day. I still have several things to accomplish before we leave in the morning. I would appreciate your prayers as we travel.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. J D permalink
    May 30, 2008 5:31 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your loss, Darin. God bless your family.

  2. May 31, 2008 4:52 am

    Listen to you.

    It is heartbreaking in so many ways and yet the service was uplifting and what can anyone do…

Leave a Reply

