Skip to content

The Ramblings of a Fired Test Monitor

April 15, 2008

That’s right. I went to do the class monitor job and I was fired. I got a little nervous when I showed up for the time they asked and as we walked to the class the school counselor started talking about the responsibilities of the test monitor and the procedures with another teacher. I am walking thinking all I thought I had to do was sit and read a book. I didn’t know it required a bunch of work.

When we arrived at the classroom she told the teacher who was walking along that she needed to stay a few minutes and get them started since I didn’t know the procedure. I don’t know what I missed because I came at the time I was instructed.

Anyway, when we walked into the class I noticed it was my sons. Well it seems that is a conflict of interest and since the monitor is there to make sure the school doesn’t cheat, not the kids, they thought that might cause a problem. So I was fired.

Now she told me to come tomorrow so we will see if I actually get to be a test monitor this year.

Anyway, the one thing that really struck me was when the school counselor introduced me to others. She didn’t really know what to call me and I could tell this made her uncomfortable. Do you call me Reverend, Pastor, all of that. She hit on Reverend and I let her know that she could just call me Mr. Hamm.

It was amusing because this came up in the message this past Sunday. We have been talking about our neighborhoods and one of the items I wanted to stress is the fact that for a healthy neighborhood all have to be involved. I a made a point of talking about the danger of raising up the Pastor or depending on him too much.

You see I don’t like to go by Pastor or Reverend or anything else. Some of that probably comes from my roots and if so I like those particular roots. I told our members that I was gong to start calling them Pew Sitter So and So and that got a laugh. I want to encourage you to go to the grocery store and call them Sacker X and Cashier Y. At Arby’s call them the Keeper of the Arby’s Sauce Phil or Joe or Sue.

I know we live in a culture that needs to show respect but I’m not sure that is the message it sends. Look at where we wear our hats today and you will know what I mean.

Do we need to show respect? Yes, I’m just not sure that I have done anything to deserve an extra dose just because my day job is different than yours.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 3:52 pm

    I am praying for you brother and sorry to hear that you werer fired.
    God bless you and your family in the Name of Jesus!
    In Him,
    Kinney Mabry

  2. April 15, 2008 5:03 pm

    Too funny! Sorry you got fired. Hopefully they let you in a class so you can rap some knuckles or give menacing looks. Tell them you will pray curses on anyone who acts dishonestly. 🙂

    About the pastor deal… I am part of a pretty traditional C o C (and so far they tolerate me anyway). When I make reference to our minister to my friends, I call him Pastor. Not because of any need for respect, but because that is the language of the spiritual marketplace. It has been easier to just use their language instead of getting high-centered on why we don’t or shouldn’t call him Pastor. Mike, our pastor, just laughs when I tell him that. We will soon point him out as a shepherd, so then I can officially, and correctly call him Pastor (hahahaha).

    I bet it is different when it is your day job. You gotta admit, if you go to the hospital and say you are Pew-Sitter Darin that doesn’t get you near as much access as Pastor Hamm.

    Love your honesty.

    jh

  3. J D permalink
    April 15, 2008 5:10 pm

    I love this post … we all know that look when someone doesn’t know what to call us. I just tell them to truth. I am to be known as BRILLIANCE. Yes, the preacher formerly known as John Dobbs. ha! 🙂

  4. Nick Gill permalink
    April 15, 2008 5:30 pm

    You don’t command that they address you as Blog King John Dobber?

    Blog King John Dobber looked down
    On one Tuesday morning…

    Saw Darin had been fired
    and began a-laughing…

    I don’t know the rest of the words, but Blog King John Dobber sounded too much like “Good King Wenceslaus” in my head…

  5. April 16, 2008 2:07 am

    we split the difference…. its usually pastor then their first name… so somewhat formal, somewhat informal.

    usually the sunday school teachers are mr or ms and their first name as well.

  6. April 16, 2008 12:43 pm

    Thanks for sharing that Blueraindrop.

Leave a Reply

