Skip to content

Beautiful Boy

March 25, 2008

I just finished reading a book called Beautfiul Boy. It is a father’s story about his experiencee with his son’s addiction. As a parent of three children it was interesting to put myself in his shoes.

Anyone out there read the book? I actually found it by accident last Friday. I was supposed to get fitted for a tux for a wedding I was performing and it was taking forever to get everyone sized. There was a Starbucks two buildings down so I ran to it becasue the tuxedo shop had no public restroom.

So I ran in and was preparing to run back out when I saw this book. It grabbed my eye and I stopped to look at the book jacket. Anyway, it sounded compelling and so I purchased the book.

This book, along with several discussions in my life, have really pushed me to think about addiction, the church and my response. There were so many things about the book that I found interesting. One is the fact that many addicts go threw several treatments before they get clean and sober.

The professionals actually say that this is to be expected. I also really got my arms around the idea that basically sin is an addiction for many. The withdrawal and all the rest can be expected from those who detox from sin.

In the end of the book the son is clean but for how long? He made it two years and then he put himself in the wrong place and it took all they had to get him back into treatment. If I see sin as something that we always struggle with and fight and guard against will I be surprised if someone relapses? What are my hopes for treatment? Will that change not only expectations but how I approach sin?

Your thoughts?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. J D permalink
    March 25, 2008 3:05 pm

    I saw that book in Starbucks and almost bought it. Glad you did. I’m very concerned about the number of people in our churches who are struggling with addiction and it seems so little is said to encourage them in recovery.

  2. March 25, 2008 3:49 pm

    Same here, JD… that is the next way I’d like HH to get involved in our community here in Frankfort.

  3. March 25, 2008 5:05 pm

    I too saw the book at Starbucks and almost bought it. It is a small world. Thank you Darin for the review.
    I you have great things to say with addiction.
    I hope you have a great day.
    Keep up the great posts.

  4. March 25, 2008 5:27 pm

    Nick,

    What would that look like?

Leave a Reply

