Skip to content

Her Father

February 29, 2008
by

Who knows why moments of life jump back into our brains. This morning I thought about a young lady who I met at church camp several years ago. This was back during my time in the Church of Christ.

It was a Friday night and one of the campers brought me a friend who wanted to be baptized. She wanted me to explain why she needed to be baptized and wanted to insure she had the proper understanding. Well I sat down with the young lady and we began to talk. It became very clear very fast that this wasn’t about baptism, you see she had already been baptized.

Of course the reason her friend brought her to me that night was because she hadn’t been baptized the right way. No, the girl was raised Baptist and had been baptized several years before. The problem wasn’t baptism but her relationship with her father. Things were not good at home. It was all she could talk about and it seemed to me that she wanted to get her fathers attention.

Something had happened in that home. I really don’t know what, there was only so much I could learn in the short time we had together. Something had happened and the father who led the family and took the family to worship each Sunday changed. The family no longer any fellowship and the once close father and daughter rarely spoke.

This wasn’t a baptism issue and this was something the father needed to know. I got the home number and called the dad. He needed to know what was going on. I called not to tell him we were going to rebaptize his daughter but to tell him he needed to lead the family spiritually. To tell him that his daughter missed him and she was using rebaptism as a way to get his attention.

We talked for awhile when he asked about the camp. He wanted to know who ran it. I told him it was a non-denominational camp affiliated with Churches of Christ. Well the conversation certainly took a turn on that one. The father who had a daughter looking for love and spiritual guidance suddenly got lost in ‘you think you are the only ones going to heaven.’ The conversation swerved into a, ‘I know what you guys are all about and I know what you think of baptism and it is wrong.’

We went from a dad agreeing to get involved in his daughters life spiritually and physically to a full on onslaught about the father’s experiences with the Church of Christ.

Well the phone call soon ended and I turned to find this mans daughter. Well upon my absence someone else had stepped to get her baptized and as I approached I heard a discussion about the frequency of the Lord’s Supper. No the church she went to couldn’t be the right one because they didn’t take the Lord’s Supper each week.

I don’t know why this story jumped into my head today but would you do me a favor and pray for this young lady. She would be in her 20’s today and would you lift up the family in prayer.

Thanks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. J D permalink
    March 1, 2008 1:44 pm

    I will, Darin.

    I want to say something about the above … but I’m just speechless. I’m glad you relayed the story. It’s a sad one on too many levels.

  2. benoverby permalink
    March 1, 2008 3:41 pm

    How sad, Darin. How many times has the same thing happened in various places? It’s incredible that a group of people can be so caustic as to blind the man to his relationship problem. I’m not excusing the father by any stretch. But the churches of Christ have got to push their way out of grip of externalistic legalism or else the group will continue to do more harm than good.

  3. March 4, 2008 5:01 am

    Sad. I’ll be praying for her…

Leave a Reply

