Skip to content

The Shopping List

February 13, 2008

I got a call today from someone’s mom. That should have been my first indication that this phone call would both amuse and disappoint. At first I thought it was going to be a do you do weddings for people you don’t know or have never met and will never see again question but it wasn’t.

No, instead mom was doing some church due diligence. I don’t know if you have ever experienced this but I have. She first told me where they were attending now but because of the size she wanted to find a place that was a little more personal. Her first question went to numbers, how many do you have in attendance on Sunday but what really interested me is the fact that she had a set number.

She was looking for 200. That magic number, the one that means you are not so big that you can’t feel a personal connection but not so small that you don’t offer a healthy list of services. She went on to mention that they were about to have their first child and wanted a place that would meet their needs.

It is a beautiful thing. Well the number question ended our conversation because I gave ours and it didn’t make the list. Oh well, I guess they won’t be coming this Sunday.

In these times I do think how fortunate those who are brand-centric must be in this department. If you move to a town with your brand you go and you put up with what you don’t like or you work to improve it because it is all you have. I recently read about Quail Springs and wondered if they understood what they were getting themselves into.

Did they really want to get into the service industry? Did they really want the shopping list? Maybe they did or maybe that won’t happen to them or maybe they have enough services to survive.

I’m not saying that I want to be in that area but you do need to understand that because there will be days when the shoppers call and they want to know what is on the shelves at your church.

I’ve never had a call that asked what we were doing to be like Jesus in our world, never.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

