Skip to content

Sick Kids

January 5, 2008
tags: , ,
by

We have had sick kids the past few days and when I say sick I mean sick. I have never seen a small child launch so much in such a small space. If you remember the movie Daddy Daycare and the boy with the bathroom you have some idea of what I experienced.

As I dug in to clean up the mess I thought about what our Father must go through. You see all I could think about is how much I wouldn’t want to do this for another person’s child. I mean since it was my daughter I jumped it and did the work but that was the only reason I wanted anything to do with that bathroom.

I thought about God and how he must respond to my messes. I thought about the support He gives and I just appreciate even more what He does for me. I suppose that is one of the strongest images I have had of our Maker recently, just this picture of a Father cleaning up for one of his children. I think it is a message many people need to hear today.

Pray for me because my wife is gone for the weekend and one of the other kids launched in my back seat this afternoon.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. johndobbs permalink
    January 5, 2008 11:44 am

    Oh Darrin … good thoughts but… sorry for the inspiration. eeeeek!

  2. January 5, 2008 3:03 pm

    Darrin … Man, I’ve been there brother. Four boys and when one gets sick they often all get sick. I remember the chickenpox being the worst. Wow, what a tough time.

    Loved the application.

    Blessings

  3. Jim Sexton permalink
    January 5, 2008 9:30 pm

    Someone I was studying with once compared our continual sin problem with a parents continual diaper changing problem. Graphic and vivid, but in your field of design perhaps it is God’s way to make a modern day parable that you can understand.

    The kingdom of God is like a room full of sick kids, all needing their diapers changed…

    “We may not all sleep, but we shall all be changed.”

    Jimbo

  4. Tucker permalink
    January 7, 2008 5:09 am

    OH brother, I am with you. One day when our boy was sick, my wife went to work and every hour on the hour, I would hear (as you describe launching) the rumbling equated only to the space shuttle firing all engines and lifting off. They say on the package the diapers were for 25-35 pounds, but there is no way they hold that much as there was a good 5 pounds of material in those pants. Unfortunately it happened for me every hour on the hour. My wife came home after 8 or 9 diapers and I told her, HE IS ALL YOURS, I am done! Thanks for reminding me of that day! Hard to believe I still love him after that. But I do!

    God Bless you during this time.

Trackbacks

  1. Rest Areas « Out Here Hope Remains

Leave a Reply

