Skip to content

A Waffle House Moment

December 18, 2007

I hadn’t been to my local Waffle House in a couple of weeks and so I cobbled out some time in my schedule to have a couple of eggs over medium with hash browns and toast.

Upon my arrival one of the wait staff commented that they had wondered where I had been, I guess it is nice to be identified now as a regular, and I shared that I had just been busy.

So I was sitting there eating when a woman I knew from our medical ministry came in. We talked and she shared her current situation. I wanted to ask about her children and her relationships. We talked and she told me about her life.

Well she was eventually joined by a waitress whose shift had ended. We added her to our conversation about life, business and the weather. They told me that they had been busy serving the various power crews from around the country. At some point the guy who was doing the cooking joined the conversation.

So we have this nice conversation when as I am about to leave the Waffle House waitress asks what I do for a living. Now I hate that question because it automatically pulls up images that I don’t necessarily like. Well I didn’t get a chance to answer because the woman from the medical mission answered for me.

I told them that I didn’t like sharing that because Pastor’s have a bad reputation. They assured me that wasn’t true but they probably didn’t understand what I meant by bad reputation. I don’t like the “you are judgmental, look down your nose on us poor sinners etc.” picture that often comes to mind.

So the waitress told me that she was raised going to church and she hated it. She went on until she disclosed that it was called the Church of Christ. She told me that she had enough of that long ago, you know the “we are the only ones saved” and the list went on. I told her that I was raised in the Church of Christ also and so our real conversation began.

Connecting, that was what happened. We went from a conversation between strangers to people with the same story. Speak to doesn’t seem to work but talking with, well I think there may be hope. Who knows what will come of it but hey, I spent an hour at the Waffle House talking to three people who were far from God, who have questions and are mostly confused by what we call Christianity.

I guess that is why I put the Waffle House sign on my blog and why I started to spend more time there, so I could have my Waffle House Church. I wonder if that will mean I can eat tax free. We’ll save that discussion for another day I suppose.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2007 9:56 pm

    Sounds great.
    The communion would be very tastey!

  2. johndobbs permalink
    December 19, 2007 4:29 am

    Thanks, Darin, for living it all out loud so that others can see it.

  3. johndobbs permalink
    December 19, 2007 4:29 am

    Forgive me for always mis-spelling your name.

  4. December 19, 2007 1:09 pm

    I had a Steak ‘N’ Shake church here in Frankfort for several years. Somehow I let it fade away. I need to do that again.

    Nick

  5. benoverby permalink
    December 19, 2007 2:28 pm

    I really appreciate you for sharing this, Darin. Part of what I want to do well is just sit with people and share life stories which lead to understanding and perhaps a word or two about our wonderful Father. Your example is a simple illustration of how the kingdom of God spreads. It’s the sort of thing I’m pray for!

    Ben

  6. December 20, 2007 10:57 pm

    Darin, thanks for sharing that. It has been some time now since I visited the Waffle House, used to go there on a regular basis. Always met seekers there…ok, I am going back…grease and all. I think Jesus would.

  7. January 3, 2008 3:39 pm

    test

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas Darkness « Out Here Hope Remains
  2. Waffle House Redux « handsandfeet

Leave a Reply

