Skip to content

Live for nothing or die for something, your call. – John Rambo

December 12, 2007
by

I just wanted to throw this quote from the new Rambo movie. It is cheesy but it does say a lot.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2007 3:33 am

    It is very profound.

    Here is my quote of the day: “Think wrongly, if you please, but in all cases think for yourself.” Doris Lessing. I thought I would share that one with you brother and it would be a good quote in a sermon or something. Oh, thanks for adding to the discussion on my blog. I greatly apprecaite it alot.

    I hope you have a great rest of the week.

  2. cessnaman permalink
    January 23, 2008 12:48 am

    As a retired United States Marine, I can assure you that it isn’t cheesy, as there are men out there, who live by words like that. We live by words like Honor, Integrity, Loyalty.

    We put our lives in the hands of others who live by the same code of honor. We bleed and even die so that others can put words like that in a movie and watch Rambo fix a world crisis in 90 minutes.

  3. Skidom permalink
    March 23, 2008 12:44 am

    yup! i like it! AND THE MOVIE IS GREAT!

    people in war die every day. Im sure there is a reason.. I mean not only one… manny.. reasons

    freedom, dimocracy, peace, justice, humanity…

  4. Onenonly permalink
    March 29, 2008 1:17 am

    And don´t forget that Americans are dying in Iraq for just one reason….the oil.

  5. vaibhav vashist permalink
    October 15, 2008 4:05 pm

    It give me great privelege,.
    Live nothing or die for something…

  6. SpecWar permalink
    November 9, 2008 4:11 am

    Onenonly,
    You’re just another moron who thinks we’re in Iraq for oil. If we were, we could have taken every drop for ourselves, and our gas prices would not have gone to $4 per gallon. So that pathetically stupid theory you endorse doesn’t hold up real well, does it? The Iraqis are producing and selling their oil, thanks to us handing their country back to them, and they are making huge amounts of money selling it. We can’t even get them to pay back some of the costs of rebuilding their infrastructure. So how the f**k do you morons figure we went there for the oil??? As Einstein said, “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.” Cessnaman is right; there are people out there like him and myself who have repeatedly put our lives at risk to defend the freedoms of good Americans as well as morons like you. Maybe if you had ever served your country or even ventured outside its borders you would know something about the real world. Go back to your parents’ basement and play your video games. Leave things like thinking and real fighting to the people who are trained to do it.

    Cessnaman, Semper Fi!

    • Joshua permalink
      April 18, 2011 5:26 am

      RIGHT ON! Comments like this piss me off! You hit the nail on the head and we all should do everything in our power to pay back those Americans who give or gave everything just so you could be retarded. I myself could not serve due to an injury but my great gram pa, gram pa, father, and brother (who served in Iraq) did. All tho i cant serve my country i still serve my community as being a Volunteer Firefighter. What have you done with your life? Most likely nothing but like was stated (sit are you dumb A** in your parents basement with no clue what really goes on in the real world!) People like you make me sick!

  7. Dragon permalink
    December 26, 2008 3:34 am

    Thanks, SpecWar and cessnaman — Good post.

    I saw that movie yesterday. I seldom stop a movie, but when I heard what he said, I backed it up and played it again. Some of those characters he helped were utterly clueless, but I’m sure they are a reflection of a lot of people.

    • May 17, 2011 4:42 pm

      Okay that is exacly what I thought when I saw it. The people that were about to pull out have no idea they were about to hit a road block, and he was not going ot let them get in his way. It means more than a man justy saying the words off a page it is his life, and he lives by that standard.

  8. raj permalink
    April 16, 2009 6:30 am

    its an awesome quote….would always strive to live on something like tat….

  9. HINDU permalink
    August 10, 2009 2:00 pm

    Excellent quote

  10. Vern permalink
    October 30, 2009 7:05 am

    Not all people understand the the emotions attached to these words…if their lucky time will teach them.. .

    • May 17, 2011 4:44 pm

      Thank u for agreeing with me on this not a lot of people do understand this quopte, but I od. LIVE FOR NOTHING DIE FOR SOMETHING.

  11. nutrage permalink
    December 5, 2009 11:07 pm

    Iraq and Vietnam

    live for something die for nothing

    • May 20, 2011 4:17 pm

      Okay you are totally messed up in the head, when you say stuff like that it makes you sound stupid, I would rather agree then not agree. He is the symbol of Hope when nothing else comes. Learn this lesson when ALL else fails he does not, and this quote is my life, so don’t tell me i’m too yopung to understand what he means. Thanks for your time
      RAMBOS_GIRL

  12. May 17, 2011 4:40 pm

    I LOVE this quote. It is my life quote, a lot of people don’t understand what this quote means when it is right in front of them staring them in the face. Live for nothing means, when you are alive you live for nothing, but when you die you should try to die for something. RAMBO RULES. This is Rambos_girl signing out.

  13. Stephen permalink
    May 25, 2011 1:05 pm

    I thought this quote came from Sly himself, but in reality, he took it from a nAutobiographical book, Live for Something or Die for Nothing by Clarence E. Hawkins Jr.

    It’s a great quote. Succinct and to the point.

  14. Stephen permalink
    May 25, 2011 1:08 pm

    The author is an ex- Marine. See the book and more about it here. I think I’m going to buy it.

    http://www.amazon.com/Live-Something-Nothing-Clarence-Hawkins/dp/1419678388

Leave a Reply

