Skip to content

A Romantic

December 11, 2007
by

Well maybe not but I’m certainly not one who likes extreme rationalism because I think it is false. What I mean is I know people who think and believe that they are rational but I don’t believe it is true.

One example is people and worship. Some people experience our worship and can explain all of the rational reasons why it is wrong.

They feel pretty good about it too. Why? Well because they didn’t come by it all namby-pamby and all helter-skelter. No, they rationally could see that it was done wrong or it was explained wrong or it just didn’t start or end right.

One of my favorite movies is The Adventures of Baron Von Munchausen. For me the movie is about this battle between reason and romance and I suppose since they named a disease after it the reasoners actually think they won out.

One scene is etched in my mind. A soldier who acts heroically is brought before the leaders of the city. You can tell he expects to be rewarded for his efforts but that isn’t what takes place. No the bean counter leader is afraid that is actions will throw of the system and cause people to go above and beyond the call of duty. He doesn’t like what this will do so he has the soldier executed.

It still happens today. Put them to death. Crush them because obviously it is better to be rational, we are the smart ones, those who aren’t beholding to any superstition. Well I’m sure that makes you feel better and all but for me it isn’t any different than those who come in and experience our worship and act as if their response is all because they are rational. I’m sure they are happy that they have called their superstition by a different name and wrapped it up in rationalism. Way to go.

The problem is not that some are rational and some are irrational, the problem is what do you irrationally want to believe. People come into a worship experience and for no other reason than the fact that it isn’t what they are used to they reject it. One of my favorites is people and music. If it is too loud or to slow or instrumental and not what they are used to they will rationally explain that it is not the best or right or helpful and they will say this is all rational.

I had an uncle who worshipped with us who felt the music kept people from worshiping. Well it may have kept him from worshiping and that I understand, but to pronounce it as some scientific reality, this is bad and can’t be good for anyone to worship and can not honor God seems to go a bit far. He felt very rational about his opinion and he even seemed to feel that it justified the fact that he wouldn’t worship at such a place. I’m okay with that but please, that was about feelings and nothing more.

The people who do this even go so far as to grab scripture at times to back up the claim. That seems to make them feel even better because that guarantees that they came to the conclusion rationally. Bravo. The only problem is you came to the conclusion based on what you are used to and what feels right and what you like but since this takes place deep inside you and is done subconsciously you call it rational.

In fact if you can get enough people to agree that it is rational you will even have a cheering section, don’t mind that they got to the point they did just as emotionally as you did.

People who abandon religion do the same thing. Because of their feelings which are irrational, how else do you explain love, and are impossible to quantify but we feel like something isn’t right so we search and when we feel like it is good we call it rational and move on.

I don’t really mind this fact, I just get tired of people believing they are more rational and logical because of it. The next time someone attacks you for being irrational just remember they only think they are. We are all irrational and we only kill the soldier because he has not followed our script or at least the one we believe is most rational. I just wish we would stop throwing out the dreamers and romantics because in the end they have the good sense to admit who they are.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    December 11, 2007 6:46 pm

    just curious if you used to live in des moines

  2. December 11, 2007 7:06 pm

    Yes.

  3. benoverby permalink
    December 12, 2007 12:16 am

    I agree, Darin. I think the worship wars too often come down to various camps fighting to get their way–each side knows they’re right for a plethora of rational reasons. But love trumps rational. Romans 14 makes no sense to either side until the cross becomes the crux of the matter. New Genesis will be instrumental. There will be all sorts of rational reasons as to why I’m going to hell. I even heard that the name itself (New Genesis) is enough to get me ran out of respectable towns.

    If all that’s rational I prefer to remain an idiot.

    Ben

  4. December 12, 2007 12:16 am

    Great post. YOU HAVE A NEW DOMAIN AND DIDN’T TELL ME? I’ll have to add you again, since this one works. If you don’t mind me stalking in every once in a while. Stay warm. My parents ended up okay in Claremore, but my aunt in Chelsea is having to stay with them until their power & water comes back on.

    Take care, Darin.

  5. December 12, 2007 3:57 am

    Hey Josh. What is your brother doing?

Leave a Reply

