Skip to content

Sadness

December 2, 2007

You don’t get to make up rules, call them from God, and say you are the real church and everyone who disagrees is going to hell, you just don’t.

Sometimes the holidays can be a very sad time for me. Years ago when I was attending a Church of Christ we developed a close relationship with one of the elders and his wife. They took this young family under their wings and encouraged us after we were first married.

Well needless to say my decision to move beyond the walls of the Church of Christ did not sit well with them, especially the man. Before we even made the decision he and I had had some heated discussions about the Bible, its purpose etc.

We were over at there home all of the time when we lived in Iowa. They moved to Arkansas and we to Kansas. I began calling him less because I had never believed in all the years after my return to the Church of Christ that it was the one true church. I never really had the “we are right on this hopefully grace will cover those others.” I actually hoped grace would cover the Church of Christ for what it was teaching.

Well we got a phone call this weekend, a message, and I am wrestling with what to do. I do love them to death, so many great memories and yet I don’t like being around them if they secretly think I am going to hell.

The holidays I guess. They bring out the good and bad. Pray that I will do the right thing. I’m thinking I need to make a call, maybe go see them. They were such a huge part of our lives when the kids were born, cards and waffles.

Anyway, if you have any brilliant advice let me have it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. pistolpete permalink
    December 2, 2007 9:25 pm

    I don’t have any brilliant ideas, but I will certainly pray for you and your family. Churches are some of the best and worst things to happen to humanity since, well, the crucifixion of Christ. We Christians tend to reflect that, for good and for bad.

  2. December 3, 2007 4:34 am

    I am assuming that he wants to get together. I know that feeling. But I also realize that there is some value in people that believe that seeing that you love God, that you are not a fruit loop. I’ve got a few other thoughts but it might not be good to post them here.

Leave a Reply

