Skip to content

Who would Jesus Pick?

October 10, 2007
by

As the political season ramps up I have been thinking about this one. Who would Jesus vote for? Isn’t that the way Christians look for the person they will vote for? Who does God want? Doesn’t a part of that usually include picking the person whose values most reflect those of Christians? Isn’t the unwritten understanding that the leader will promote the values that God would promote?

I only ask because last night in our Bible story time I was reading about Jehu with the kids. There is a reason we Christians stick to the NT you know. The OT is a messy book and let’s be really open and honest, God does things that go against the picture of God we have created. I decided long ago that with the kids I wasn’t going to paper over or try to reinterpret the events of the OT. I do talk about the fact that it was a different time with different values and it took something much different to survive, but that doesn’t give me license to rewrite what it says.

No, we were reading about Jehu and I couldn’t help but think about out tendency to ask what leader would God pick with the basic assumption that this person will be the one who most closely holds to Christian values.

In 1 Kings 19:15-18 Elijah is told to go and anoint Jehu the son of Nimshi as king over all of Israel. God also instructs Elijah to anoint Hazael the king of Syria. Okay, so God is picking leaders so their character must be beyond reproach, right?

Elijah is unable to finish this task so it falls to Elisha. 2 Kings 9 records Jehu being anointed as the king of Israel. So all goes well from there. Jehu follows God and insures that the people and the government are a reflection of God’s values. Well Jehu did wipe out Ball worship from Israel but it seems he didn’t want to give up the golden calves and so God being God lets Jehu have it.

Oh, not so fast. You see God appointed Jehu to bring the punishment that was promised on the house of Ahab so because he carried that out he promised him that his family would hold the throne for four generations.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying God was pleased with Jehu’s decision to not follow after his commandments. I’m not saying He was happy for all the trouble and pain that this decision caused, I’m just saying that it had no bearing on whether or not God put him in a place of leadership.

God used Jehu to carry out a bigger plan that was in keeping with a promise. I was reading this article which came from a link on Todd’s blog at Toddblog.net and some of the comments really hit me.

“I can’t think of a bigger disaster for social conservatives, defense conservatives, and economic conservatives than Hillary Clinton in the White House,”

Really? Are you sure? I can’t imagine what you would have said about the appointment of Jehu to lead Israel. I can’t imagine what you woul have thought about God promising four generations of leadership.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2007 3:11 am

    I think he would pike you! 🙂

  2. October 10, 2007 4:42 pm

    That’s not very nice.

    Have you ever seen anyone get piked? Watch Braveheart sometime. It looks decidedly unpleasant.

    I think there is no way to know if or how Jesus would choose. That’s why I’m praying and studying about whether or not I should participate in the process myself.

    I think that local elections are about the only ones that Christians can really examine clearly and vote with their consciences. But I’m not sure 🙂

    in HIS love,
    Nick

Leave a Reply

