Skip to content

My New Friend

September 26, 2007

As I was entering the Waffle House today a young man held the door. He was holding a stuffed dog, so I asked him the dogs’ name. He informed me that the dog wasn’t real. I still don’t know what to do with that one. I said okay and went and had a seat.

Later after I had finished my usual I noticed a commotion coming from the bar area, you know the area I’m talking about, every Waffle House looks the same. The boy was informing the waitress that he and I were friends. Everyone wanted to get my attention because to be friends it seems he needed my name.

I went over and introduced myself, going for a handshake but settling for, well you know the grip, kind of the arm wrestler grip, not sure of the name now that I think of it. Anyway, if anyone knows help me out. So we exchanged names and he informed me that his mom was the manager. He also informed me that his mom couldn’t cook which was interesting because she had cooked my meal. It turns out she had added cheese to his eggs once and she will never live it down.

So now I have a new friend and his mom is the manager of my local Waffle House. Still don’t know if the dog has a name but as I left I informed him that he should find the dog one, stuffed or not.

Who knows what will come of this but I tell you this much, I have a new friend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. johndobbs permalink
    September 26, 2007 10:11 pm

    awesome story, Darin. You neglected to tell us what you had for breakfast…but other than that, I think it was a great story!

  2. September 27, 2007 12:00 pm

    Good Day 🙂 God is Love, May you experience God’s Love this Day, may we really learn to Praise him in all things 🙂

  3. September 28, 2007 4:10 pm

    He has an unreal dog.

    That’s disconcerting that you could see an unreal dog.

    BTW, I want a triple-scrambled-cheese wheat double plate scattered-covered-chunked.

    I miss my old job sometimes.

    Nick

Leave a Reply

