Skip to content

Part 3

September 12, 2007
by

It is time for act 3 of my blogging life.

If you have followed me at all you know that my original blog was Backtrack Journey. I came to a point where I realized I wasn’t working my way back anymore so I decided to start another blog with a more appropriate name.

I don’t need to change blog locations but I am changing my picture and my personal information section. You see my contrarian nature is at times my worst enemy. At times I have avoided certain labels because I don’t like them. I don’t like buzzwords because they often lead to more talk then any real action.

Well I realized recently that this often times works against me because it keeps me from building relationship with like-minded people. They don’t know I think like they do because I have not expressed myself in the same ways.

It hurts me because I don’t have other people’s experiences to read and learn about and so I lack the information I need at times to see things for what they are.

So I am going to use the word because it best describes who we are. We are missional to the core. I must admit that I almost deleted this sentence because it seems so presumptuous, but I know it is true. We are doing the things that missional churches do, we talk and look at the world from the same lens so there you go, I said it, we are missional, and I am missional.

Why Waffle House? Because we are, because that is the place I go to read and meet people, because Waffle House best describes who we are.

Will anything change? I will be making a few additions but overall much will stay the same. I just needed to make it official and use the M word, I mean until this post I have never categorized something as missional, that will change.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2007 2:37 am

    I’ve never seen you at waffle house. Is there more than one?

  2. September 14, 2007 12:07 am

    Maybe I will see you next week. You were not there today.

  3. Jim Sexton permalink
    September 14, 2007 9:27 pm

    Waffle House

    After an endless barrage, valuable in it’s entirety, of Wal-Mart and Starbucks lessons, you have now taken on Waffle House as the flagship…

    We have one in Cherokee…let me know when we can meet for breakfast. Interestingly enough, Waffle House follows almost none of the patterns of the other two. They still seem to have a loyal following…

    Jimbo

  4. September 17, 2007 6:29 pm

    I miss Waffle House.

    I was third-shift manager at the first WH south of Nashville on I-65.

    I preached as much gospel there as I have in pulpits.

    in HIS love,
    Nick

Leave a Reply

