Skip to content

Leadership Summit?

August 10, 2007
by

I got a call Wednesday afternoon with an offer to go to the Willow Creek Leadership Summit and I couldn’t turn it down.

Anyone else attending out there?

Thoughts?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2007 3:39 pm

    well, i agreed with Wade on day one. Day two the first guy was awful. he said the same thing over and over and over and over and over. The rest was good. I would love to hear your take on the two movie guys. I have never watched American Idol but that one clip they showed just killed me. All I could think was “This is NOT right”. Bad thing I was watching for the rest of our group while they had a team meeting to discuss direction and thoughts and I couldn’t even tell them much afterwards except to cry.

  2. August 12, 2007 2:48 am

    I missed the morning on day one because I already had a commitment. I also missed much of the first guy on day two again because I had something I had to get done.

    I did run into Wade Hodges during the afternoon on the first day, sat down only to find that his group was on the row in front of me. He probably thought I was stalking him.

    Anyway, I liked Flake but I was predisposed to like him. I wish he had told more stories and avoided the clinical but I thought he had a lot of good thoughts if you could sift through what he had to say. I left his message inspired.

    Buckingham is a home run every time. A great mix of humor and knowledge. Some great nuggets to chew on.

    I missed most of Porter but I thought he had some good points. I did think to myself who could have encouraged anyone to do less then he. It was helpful to think about but I also thought he went overboard. I found certain irony with the Comic Relief guy book ending the day. I kept hearing Porter say this does nothing for poverty over and over again in my head.

    Colin Powell was probably my favorite. I just thought he really gets it on so many levels. I found the Comic Relief guy profound and I thought his video work was powerful. I think a person could learn a lot about championing a cause from him.

    John Ortberg was excellent but I must confess to thinking that his talk could have been done in half the time. He is a great speaker, engaging and informative, but I still wonder why they need so much time.

    Due to my schedule I missed Saturday so I don’t know. Did you catch Saturday? What did you think?

    I am glad I went and thankful for the free invite. I purchased a couple of books and am looking forward to reading them. I do wish I had went with a team, it is hard when you don’t have anyone to process what they have said.

    Thanks for stopping in.

  3. August 13, 2007 7:11 pm

    yeah it would be much better with a team. We are still distilling things and having a big powwow Thursday night to work on unifying our vision.

    It did seem a little locked into the format. I thought several would have been better as 30 minute talks.

    I missed Saturday as well. I haven’t talked about it with anyone that was there.

Leave a Reply

