Skip to content

The Next Page in the Green Apron Book

July 23, 2007
by

I’m back to my little Green Apron Book today. They follow Why We’re Here with How We Do It. Now this one seems open for a long and extensive list doesn’t it? What would your church say? Could they come up with a short answer?

Starbucks says this: Together, In legendary ways, big and small.

When is the last time you thought of anything your fellowship did as legendary? Impressive? A little above average? I love what they say. I love the fact that they look at their small and large the same way, as legendary. I love that their first words are together.

How many of us feel together with those we fellowship with? Could this be the number one key? I have been in fellowships where there clearly existed factions. The progressive types over here pushing for change and the traditional side over here trying to keep things the same. Not much together there really is there?

How can you focus on doing something legendary when your focus is on the other side and your frustration with them? Have you ever heard someone say I can’t wait until this generation dies? I can’t wait until this one grows up?

You see we say we want to make a difference but how will that happen if our time is consumed with the other side? Starbucks understands this. People must be behind their mission or everything else they say is a waist of time.

Isn’t it sad that we have circled our wagons around theology, not the core theology of Christ and God, but all of the add on bogus claims of theology. The very fact that we do that insures that we will never be together and because we can’t be together I guarantee we won’t do anything legendary.

Wouldn’t it be nice if our goal was to do something legendary in our community? Wouldn’t that be great if we viewed that in big ways and small? Let me share something that has been kicking around my brain these past few weeks. It is something called Bussed. It is a sign that I am going to take to local restaurants along with a custom apron with our logo. The sign will explain that I am doing this because Christ came to serve, not be served. I am going to see if restaurants will allow me to clean their tables.

Will it be legendary? I don’t know but it is something on my heart I need to do. What would you do if you wanted to do something legendary, if your fellowship wanted to do something legendary?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2007 12:21 pm

    You know what’s worse?

    There don’t even have to be factions for us not to be together. It breaks my heart with frustration. People know (or maybe they don’t?) that it requires intentionality to foster togetherness within the confines of a FAMILY structure of parents and children. How can we expect that just because we all show up at one place at one time that that means we’re together?

    Sometimes I think we have more in common with the Griswolds than the early church. Haphazardly tossed together, but each in our own world and very few care what the trip is even about.

    Sorry, frustration overwhelmed me for a bit. But what really scares me is that part of the reason churches are losing their youth is because young people are champions at spotting hypocrisy and apathy. They see that lots of people in their congregation don’t really want to be together, and they just don’t want to be a part of that.

    I’m working on a couple ideas to counteract that, at least here in Frankfort. Keep up with this string, Darin, please. It really is driving me.

    in HIS love,
    Nick

Trackbacks

  1. The Green Apron Book: A social media guide for churches? « NewsMuse
  2. Social Monday: The Green Apron Book « NewsMuse

Leave a Reply

