Skip to content

Why We’re Here

July 19, 2007
by

What do you think about that question? Do we see it as an individual or as a collective? Am I the only one who wonders why something that is collective, church, often sees itself as individual? Have we allowed church to be so individualized that the collective idea is lost?

Starbucks has a collective attitude, when I read their material it is about us, not me but we. Again a coffee company seems to have the guts to use us and we’s while the church talks to the individual as you and I. In 1 Corinthians 12 Paul talks all about the we, the body that is the church. How many messages have you heard about the body and yet do you think that our behavior speaks to such a body? I don’t know.

Not only does Starbucks ask why they are here, they have the audacity to say it is to provide an uplifting experience that enriches people’s daily lives. Now they have just gone too far. My coffee shops focus is to provide an uplifting experience?

They use the word enriches but what if I changed that to blessed, would it sound more familiar to a Christ follower? They are calling their people to be a blessing. They exist to bless others. A coffee company. Peter tells early believers to live in such a way that those who see them will give honor to God when he comes for how they behaved (1 Peter 2:12).

Someone slap me in the head please. So the first page of your churches Green Apron Book says three words that give people an idea of what you are about. You follow it up with why you exist, so what does the book say?

As I have already alluded to, I think the church of my youth would be “Do it right, check to see if it is right, tell everyone else they are wrong” and I think they would say they existed to fix everyone else so that they would do it right.

I don’t know, maybe I’m wrong, maybe they have a good and right plan but I will tell you the words of Starbucks ring true to me. They are consistent with the message I find in scripture about church. Yesterday I received our first shipment of coffee accessories for our fellowship. I am putting in a picture, let me know what you think.

imga0054_1.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2007 6:32 pm

    Those look awesome! Well done!

  2. July 19, 2007 7:06 pm

    Todd,

    Thanks. I will soon be receiving our shipment of generic coffee bags so that we can begin filling them with beans.

    Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. July 20, 2007 4:18 pm

    Darin,
    Great post.
    You need to try a Vinte Tripple Carmel Creve Latte W/ extra Froth.

  4. July 20, 2007 5:13 pm

    Interesting. Would love to hear more about what you guys are doing with the coffee motif.

  5. July 20, 2007 6:11 pm

    If you want a link to the place that does custom sleeves let me know.

    Really what I am trying to do is steal those emotions related to coffee and get people to think of our fellowship in that same way.

    We will be giving out the cup with a bag of coffee along with a DVD to new people in our community along with visitors.

  6. johndobbs permalink
    July 25, 2007 5:41 pm

    Darin, awesome ideas…thanks for sharing them with everyone!

  7. July 25, 2007 7:36 pm

    If you want I can get you a link to the place we purchased the sleeves from.

Leave a Reply

