Skip to content

Third Place Revisited

July 18, 2007
by

You know the first time I went to our local Starbucks I didn’t have an experience I would call special. The person behind the counter wasn’t particularly nice or friendly or warm and the chairs didn’t seem particularly comfortable but then I began to read about Starbucks and I thought to myself maybe I missed something. Well, maybe more accurately, I said to myself I have to get me one of those mysterious green apron books that the writer of The Starbucks Experience writes about.

So I returned to Starbucks and initially things didn’t go well. The guy doing the drive-up also was trying to do the take my order and that wasn’t working, so another of the baristas, I’m even getting the lingo down, stepped up to take over. Things changed drastically for the better here.

It was at this point that another green apron wearing individual approached and asked me about my day. Well this seemed to be as good a time as any to inquire about The Green Apron Book so I did. I asked if they had one in their apron. Well that only seemed to confuse them but eventually we all were on the same page and they brought out one of these little books of mystery that I so longed to see.

I asked if I could keep the book and this seemed to send some kind of warning bell because she asked me who I was and she wanted to know how I even new about the afore mentioned green apron book.

Well when I explained I was a minister and I was reading a book about Starbucks and it seemed to me that church should be known for the same kind of things Starbucks was she said I could keep the book.

I am so excited. If your church had a small green apron book what would it say? Where would the focus be and how would in enhance or help build your fellowship into a third place?

I am kicking around the idea of creating our own little book for our fellowship. I ordered custom coffee sleeves last week and I hope they arrive tomorrow. They have our new graphic on them and everything. Check out our web site to get an idea.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2007 3:36 am

    I don’t know about the little books…what’s in them? do they tell the green aprons how to behave?

  2. July 18, 2007 3:43 am

    Sorry.

    They list the core values of Starbucks. I will share more in the coming weeks.

  3. johndobbs permalink
    July 18, 2007 11:30 am

    The website looks nice, Darin. I like it. It describes the kind of ‘third place’ that I would enjoy. I didn’t know about the books either…so thanks … and we look forward to reading more about them. I think a lot of the greeting / serving / loving functions of the church revolve around the question “Who do I love most?” I also happen to think the most common answer is “Me”. Never articulated … just acted out. Loving Jesus most leads us into the area you are talking about … and that is what we need most. Enjoyed the post much.

Trackbacks

  1. On My Mind « Out Here Hope Remains

Leave a Reply

