Skip to content

An Optimistic Pessimist

July 2, 2007
by

That is who I decided I am. I’m optimistic, I want to believe things will be better and we will make better choices, but I hold a healthy dose of pessimism that I suppose keeps me from being surprised when it doesn’t happen.

What do you think? Does it sound like a cop out?

I just say this because my optimism is all that keeps me going, without it pessimism, what usually plays out, is all that I would see. Now maybe this is a recipe for failure or half hearted ministry, let me know your thoughts, but in my experience it seems the people you often do things for are the last to either make use of or even recognize the need.

Now someone will probably tell me my problem is I keep thinking they really need this instead of working to have them recognize it is what they need, and you might be right, but what happens when you try that approach and you get the same results? You see I must keep my optimism because through countless try it this way or that way the results seem to be the same. Maybe now you can see why I’m an optimistic pessimist, and please convince me I should be otherwise, I’m optimistic it can be done.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2007 4:55 am

    I believe it is a tool that the devil uses. We as Christians are afraid to expect things from God. Darin, we should expect things from God. As Christians we need to be optimistic. I believe that is what faith is about. I put my faith in God and expect get Heaven in return. I am have a pray to Jesus to provide for what I need (need) and I expect that he is going to give me what I need. Didn’t Jesus say, “I have come that they might have life and have it abundantly.” The devil is refered to as the doubter. The father of lies. He is the one who twists the truth. We as Christians need to live on the promises of God. Understand and expecting God to follow through on those promises. Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness and all these thing will be given to you. The Word of God Darin says that you are chosen. Yes, you we are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, once we had not recieved mercy, now have recieved mercy. Promises. Hope. We need to pray with faith. Boldly approach the thrown of grace. Paul told the young minister Timothy, God did not give you or us as Christians a spirit of timidity but power! We are more than Conquerors! Remember who you are Darin. Never forget. Pesticistic lifestyle is a lifestyle that satan wants every Christian to live and it will robe you of your joy of your joy in Christ and burn you out quicker than you can imagine. Don’t let your mind go down that path. Set your mind on things above. Set your mind on Christ. Focus on the blessing he has given you. You are bless brother (family, job, finances, America, Salvation, Spiritual gifts, and on and on…) Remember these things. Be optimistic. Remember who you are in Christ. No one can take the Love that God has for you away. No one can still your salvation. No one. You are special. Loved by God Almighty. He is on your side. His Spirit lives within you. Let Him lead your life in every situation: as an individual, as a husband, father, minister, all relationships. You will be bless. Again live the abundant life in Christ.

  2. johndobbs permalink
    July 3, 2007 2:13 pm

    Darin, we all have temperaments. I think my temperament is much like yours. I do not believe it is a rejection of faith at all, but more reliance on faith and trust that God can see us through. We live in a broken world … fallen in nature … most of what we do will not bring about the results we hoped for … the gifts we receive we give thanks to God for … the hurts we feel and the disappointments we experience are signals to turn our hearts toward God. I’m not sure if our temperaments are LEARNED or NATURAL (perhaps that stirs a great debate) … but I do praise God for all the temperaments and how they can share with one another.

Leave a Reply

