Skip to content

They Sucked my Blood

June 6, 2007
by

I went to give blood recently. They had been begging to suck my blood for weeks. As I sat preparing for the giant needle stick I struck up a conversation with my resident vampire. I asked her about her job and if she enjoyed it. We talked about what she did before and where she grew up.

At some point we even discussed what her father did for a living. We were having a nice conversation when it happened. She asked me what I did for a living. To be truthful I hate the question. It really is a loose-loose question if you ask me. If they are believers then great isn’t that nice I go to such and such where so and so is the Pastor. On the other hand if they do not believe I am at best a polite conversation of friendly banter because you know I am only friendly because I’m a Pastor or at the other extreme they become somewhat hostile and never speak to me again.

I suppose she gave me an answer number three. She told me I didn’t look like a Pastor. You know, no offense or anything but she said she could usually peg a pastor from miles away. I really don’t know what that meant because after she said it she told me she had no intention of offending me, I just didn’t look the part.

So I told her I wasn’t offend, in fact I told her I considered it a compliment. To be honest that whole way of looking, you do know what she meant don’t you, is something I have tried to avoid. At times it gets me in trouble. Our elder just the other day commented in a positive way about the fact that I was actually wearing a shirt with a collar.

Where do these pictures come from? These images that allow a person to peg a Pastor from a mile away? Did I miss something, should I have been offended? Should I have thought I failed in some way for not putting off a pastoral vibe?

What do you think? Ever been pegged as a Pastor? How did that impact the experience?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim Sexton permalink
    June 7, 2007 5:46 am

    Darin,

    I am, and will always be, a shorts and sandals guy. The shirt may or may not have a collar, but that is subject to some inner drive to be more or less formal depending on the situation. At 51 you’d think I would eventually grow up, but whatever dude. Rush wrote in a song titled, “I think I’m going bald”, these words… “Even when I am grey, I will be grey my way!” That’s me…

    I have gotten that same kind of compliment here in Cherokee, and it is pretty hard to be more informal than the locals, but it seems to have more to do with how I hold myself, or really how I interact with others that seems to make people feel more comfortable than many ministers/pastors/whatevers here.

    I wear my history like a badge of honor, and without trying to beat my own drum, I take a page from Paul in doing so. Right or wrong, my past is a part of me that becomes something to use as I teach others. “We all have skeletons in our closets, I had to add a second closet a while back…” I will share with people. I am not always proud of my past, but I am willing to use it to share my lessons in stupidity, hoping to help others avoid the same pathway.

    It seems that people respond to that kind of honesty. I grew up liking Led Zeppelin, Hendrix, Black Sabbath, Alice Cooper, the list is too long to go on… the point is, I am apt to sing along with a song that I knew as a kid and am not ashamed to admit that it is part of my history. As you might have guessed, I don’t sing along with everything, as I have purged some stuff from my life, but it doesn’t keep me from talking about what I used to listen to and why I stopped. I have used Tull’s “Aqualung” album more than once in a lesson.

    I think that too many preachers are so afraid to let anyone see the ‘real them’, that it is easy to spot the plastic exterior that can be put up in a matter of minutes. I hope to keep it that way, an honest, this is me, so that my exterior and my interior are not in conflict. I hate thinking about remembering to put up that wall of faux facade…

    Jimbo

  2. June 7, 2007 3:10 pm

    Tull? Aqualung? Obviously generational.

Leave a Reply

