Skip to content

Demons to Fight

May 30, 2007
by

“Reading Harris’ Letter to a Christian Nation was like sitting ring side, cheering the champion, yelling ‘Yes!’ at every jab. For those of us who feel depressed by this country’s ever increasing unification of church and state, and the ever decreasing support for the sciences that deliver knowledge and reduce ignorance, this little book is a welcome hit of adrenalin.”

–Marc Hauser, Harvard College Professor, author of Moral Minds: How Nature Designed Our Sense of Right and Wrong

This quote just struck me because on one side Christians are lamenting the continued secularization of the United States while in the other corner secularists are bemoaning the Christianizing of the country.

Who is right on this one?

I think this is an interesting example of perspective and knowledge and how we interpret information. One side feels that if their view isn’t addressed science is taking a back seat. Each side uses the other as a rallying cry to engage the troops. Do you think that is really healthy?

I think it would probably be good if we all understood we are disagreeing about our origins, nothing more and nothing less. One side says we came from nature and chance while another says we were created. Much of the rest is simply posturing to make one feel better about his or her pet position.

I aim this squarely at Christians who attempt to force their views just as much as any secularist. You see in the end origins are beyond science’s specialty because where we came from can only be speculated about by all parties involved. No one can know since no one was there with a video camera.

I think it would be nice if we all understood how alike we really are, each want to understand where they came from and work from there. Now I realize that this isn’t going to happen but it can in my neck of the woods if I decide it shall be so. I should have empathy for those who want to know where they came from but may end up siding with what is called science.

Hasn’t the church gotten a lot wrong when trying to use the Bible as a science journal? To be honest when I saw the Creation Museum a part of me just cringed because again instead of focusing on what this is all about, origins, we focus on disputable facts that no one can truly prove no matter how many Mount St. Helen’s we get.

Why do we judge Genesis by our modern scientific minds when it simply couldn’t have been written for such a reason? It simply wants us to know our origins, it had no need to explain dinosaurs because unlike us they didn’t care about their age.

Of course the other side of the discussion is what is called science which when it comes to origins can’t be true science because we are just guessing. Scientist disagree with the interpretation of data so I don’t know if I should get all hot and bothered since they can’t even agree as to why dinosaurs died, why should I as a believer have to know?

No, each side has a story about our origins and the question is which do you believe because what you believe about that will certainly impact the way you live. As a believer I hold that we were created and loved by that Creator and if I understand correctly that is suppose to shape the way I live. I figured I would try that and then maybe people might actually care about my origin story.

I understand people will disagree and I have no problem with that, but please let’s realize this is simply an origins discussion, nothing more or less.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jim Sexton permalink
    June 1, 2007 5:04 pm

    In addition, since there are no postcards being sent back from heaven, we can only guess what it is like, where it may be, and when it will come. What I do know is this, I want to spend eternity with God… new heaven, new earth, under water, on land, or in the sky. Being with my creator is my goal. I leave the rest up to Him, as He seems to be much better at that stuff than I am.

    I believe that it takes far MORE faith to believe that we are here as a result of a series of mutations and evolving things that spring out of chance. However God chooses to make things happen is beyond question, I believe in Him and have faith that the mysteries will be made clear to me someday. Until that day comes, I don’t waste any time trying to figure out exactly what God did to create all that is around us, nor do I worry about the mansion of many rooms that is promised for my future.

    I’d rather use the time, energy, and abilities that He gave me to get people ready for the time to come… that being eternity. Helping them chose eternity with God rather than eternal damnation with Satan is way more important than how we got here or when the end times will come.

    Jesus wasn’t worried about creation, nor did he waste a minute trying to figure out when the end time would come… He is my example and I plan to worry about what Jesus worried about. Seeking to save the lost.

    Jimbo

Leave a Reply

