Skip to content

He needed a hand

May 18, 2007
by

I love it when what we say is put to the test. When we say we should act a certain way or do a certain thing, I love when God makes us show that it is so. We have a new neighbor, well he is the newest, and our new neighbor seems to have a boyfriend. Now our neighbor travels on business and is rarely home but I do see him from time to time.

This past weekend our neighbor was moving in a hot tub. A group of his friends were helping but it looked heavy. Another neighbor was over and she made a comment about what was taking place and I realized I had to put my money where my mouth was. It is easy when our neighbor is never around but today he was in the front yard and the hot tub looked heavy and I thought maybe they could use some help.

So I went over and offered to lend a hand. They said thanks and said they thought they could handle it but asked if I would stick around just in case. I did and my services were not required. We shook hands and I introduced myself and then they started to set up the tub and I retreated to my home and my family and our other neighbors.

It is easy to say you would do something it is easy to even believe it is true but it always comes down to actions. What fascinated me most is the fact that it seems that many people on the block were waiting to see what I would do. Our other neighbor seemed uncomfortable with the situation but since I offered a hand they cross the street to talk.

If I really care about someone’s soul the only way I will have any impact is to cross the street and offer a hand, sitting in my front yard saying I can’t believe someone lives that way does no one any good and to be honest, I might as well throw on a prayer shawl with some phylacteries and head out for morning prayers.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2007 2:41 am

    Darin,
    Excellent post.
    It makes me think how our society has changed today. When moving into our upstairs townhouse in Lubbock. We were moving a hide-away bed up the stairs and one of our neighbors simplely ignored us. The bed as slipping. We need help. Desprite help. He just went in ignoring us completely. We finally got the couch in with hard work, very hard work.
    As we unloaded the truck we heard loud music (basing) throughout the other townhouse.
    Then next morning we went to church and we went to in Lubbock out of all the millions of churches. Guess who was sitting next to us? You guessed it. Our neighber who ignored the help we needed. Do we ignore the help that world needs. Do we ignored the help of the lost? I want to thank you so much Darin for this reminder. It was such a wonderful post. God bless you brother. Your blog makes me think and inspires me during the day.

  2. May 20, 2007 2:50 am

    Kinney beat me to everything I wanted to say. Working in food service for the past 12 years has placed me in close quarters with a lot of people working on the wrong side of the moral tracks. But I’ve still never seen anyone’s eyes light up and their day change as much as my friend Brian’s did, when he was having a brutally awful day and I hugged him and told him I loved him. He is gay, and I am Christian. We worked well together, but he never expected a Christian to cross that line. It didn’t make him stop being gay, but it did make him begin to take Christ a little more seriously. I haven’t seen him in about 5 years, but I pray that he is safe and seeking.

    Nick

  3. May 20, 2007 12:06 pm

    Thanks Nick and Preacherman.

Leave a Reply

