Skip to content

Your favorite U2 Album?

May 2, 2007
by

zooropa.jpg

Here is where I show my inability to distinguish good taste from bad. Zooropa is by far my favorite U2 album. There, I said it and I’m not taking it back. I actually enjoyed U2’s dive into techno/pop/rock/Johnny Cash.

Can anyone deny that The Wanderer is just good music?

So how about you? Which one is your favorite? I regret that I had a period of insanity, short on cash where I sold most of my collection, now I typically enjoy their catalog on Rhapsody.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2007 3:23 pm

    i’m speechless.

  2. May 2, 2007 3:29 pm

    You are shocked to find another Zooropa lover?

  3. May 2, 2007 3:33 pm

    Shocking indeed Darin! I am not a big U2 fan but from those I talk to they state this is one awful album. To each is own though. I prefer their first album over all.

  4. May 2, 2007 4:08 pm

    Well, I never bought Zooropa. I thought they had sold out. Then one day I found a CD that someone had literally thrown out their car window. And I listened to it. It was not as bad as I had thought. But still far from my favorite.

    As a whole album (why are we still using that word) my favorites are probably Rattle and Hum and How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb For very different reasons they are different times in my life.

    I can remember the first time I heard Sunday Bloody Sunday!

  5. May 2, 2007 4:16 pm

    It seems that someone was proselytizing. They chucked it out the window to draw others in it would seem.

  6. May 2, 2007 7:07 pm

    what was that movie where the guy in Africa finds a Coke bottle?

  7. May 2, 2007 7:12 pm

    Are you sure that isn’t a polar bear?

  8. May 2, 2007 7:31 pm

    no it was a guy who gets hit in the head by a coke bottle falling from the sky and he sets out on a journey to find out the meaning.

  9. May 2, 2007 7:32 pm

    I looked it up “The Gods Must be Crazy”

  10. May 4, 2007 8:36 am

    Dear Darin,

    And I had just high regard for you. Why are you running around and pretending that the greatest rock band ever released some silly album called Zooropa!?!? Obviously you are DE-LOOOOOSIONAL! Clearly such an album has never been released, or even imagined by the Irish quartet.

    I’ve been listening to U2 consistently for 20 years now. I fell in love with them when I was a huge geek in high school and hearing them on the radio every once in a while kept me from drowning myself in angst and selfpity.

    Joshua Tree is probably as close to a perfectly crafted piece of musical artwork as anyone has offered in the last 50 years. That being said, Achtung Baby! is my favorite album. It is rougher, and the industrial sound is obviously dated, but the rawness of the love tracks are still intensely compelling for me.

    Nick

  11. May 4, 2007 5:22 pm

    Nick,

    I noticed there was no love left at the end. Well I know it exists because it kept me company while making long trips at my first job out of college.

  12. Jim Sexton permalink
    May 6, 2007 5:36 pm

    I am a child of the 70’s my friend… no U2 for me after their 2nd disc. Now, a little political commentary from Neil Peart, Alex Leifson, and Geddy Lee goes a long way for me.

    “Now the trees are all kept equal with hatchet, axe and saw…”

    U2 is just a pale version of The Clash anyway…

    Jimbo

  13. May 11, 2007 5:41 am

    No, no, no. While I’m sure U2 would be honored by the comparison, I’ve always felt that The Clash had swallowed the existential dilemma hook, line, and sinker. Hope is gone. Life is meaningless. Rock out. No matter what the lyrics are saying, the music is saying that this world sucks, and there isn’t anything anyone can ever do about it.

    By clinging, through everything, to the whispers of hope echoing out of their Catholic roots, U2 never bought it. They might get confused. They might get pissed off that hope hasn’t been fulfilled yet. But as they’ve matured, that hope has slowly become the background informing their instrumentation on almost every track. It is like they’re saying, “No matter what you think or see or feel or know, none of that equals the end of the story. There’s something MORE.” And that excites me.

    Nick

  14. May 11, 2007 5:48 pm

    Nick, I just purchased a book about U2 called One Step Closer: Why U2 Matters to Those Seeking God.

    I have not started reading it so we will see how interesting it is.

Leave a Reply

