Skip to content

Amazing Grace and horses

April 8, 2007
by

The family went to see the movie Amazing Grace for Good Friday. What a powerful movie. On Thursday we took time to wash each others feet after dinner. Our daughter Madison read from John as we took turns with the warm water.

You know the second album I ever purchased that had Christian lyrics was Stephen Curtis Chapman’s Great Adventure. I must confess that in my excitement I would have purchased almost anything. I will never forget the woman at the register as I laid my CD down for purchase. She went on and on about how great Chapman was. She told me she had seen him in concert. She spoke to me as if everyone new his music.

I really didn’t want to take the time to explain that I didn’t know who he was or even what was on the album, I just wanted to have some music that built me up.

To be honest I didn’t really like the album, a part of me regretted my new found excitement for contemporary Christian music. I thought I might want to be a little more discerning in the future. But I will tell you this, one song on that album impacted my Christian walk more than any other has before or since. The album is one I rarely listened to but I did play this song.

The Great Adventure was and is a song that still ignites my soul. As I watched the movie Amazing Grace I couldn’t help but look at William Wilberforce and the way his life was portrayed. The movie reminded me of this song and it reminded me of the passion I want to have for the kingdom.

Saddle up your horses

Started out this morning in the usual way
Chasing thoughts inside my head of all I had to do today
Another time around the circle try to make it better than the last

I opened up the Bible and I read about me
Said I’d been a prisoner and God’s grace had set me free
And somewhere between the pages it hit me like a lightning bolt
I saw a big frontier in front of me and I heard somebody say “let’s go”!

CHORUS
Saddle up your horses we’ve got a trail to blaze
Through the wild blue yonder of God’s amazing grace
Let’s follow our leader into the glorious unknown
This is a life like no other – this is The Great Adventure

Come on get ready for the ride of your life
Gonna leave long faced religion in a cloud of dust behind
And discover all the new horizons just waiting to be explored
This is what we were created for

BRIDGE
We’ll travel over, over mountains so high
We’ll go through valleys below
Still through it all we’ll find that
This is the greatest journey that the human heart will ever see
The love of God will take us far beyond our wildest dreams

Yeah… oh saddle up your horses… come on get ready to ride

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim Sexton permalink
    April 10, 2007 2:25 pm

    So much out there that you have missed. Contemporary Christian music has grown in leaps and bounds since I bought my first Kieth Green album.

    The lyrics are what make the difference and controlling our speech through song is a great way to start. It is far better to the available alternatives, and yet I hear Christians who condemn it while at the same time allowing their kids to listen to the filth that comes out from the rest of the music industry.

    If the kids like the sound and that is what attracts them, don’t let them get the filth that the sound is accompanied by, look for Christian alternatives. Thousand Foot Crutch, Seventh Day Slumber, Creed, and stuff like that is as loud, heavy, and today as kids want without bringing along the messages of the world. There isn’t a category of music that doesn’t have a variety of artists in Contemporary Christian music.

    You have gotten pretty ‘out there’ musically for a guy opposed to shape notes… =)
    Jimbo

  2. April 10, 2007 2:39 pm

    Jimbo, You always bring a smile to my face. I once had a shape note battle with a friend. They make for great clubs.

    Okay, maybe not, but if you know who Thousand Foot Crutch is who is the out there one?

  3. Jim Sexton permalink
    April 10, 2007 5:02 pm

    Ahhh… my musical taste swings a broad spectrum. These days I am mostly a blues and jazz guy. I can be WAY out there at times, just given the proper mood. I will never forget the NFL pre-game show that used “Rawk Fist” (TFC) as it’s intro and background music to a long video segment.

    Slide me a little Walter Trout when you can, and I will be a happy listener…
    Jimbo

Leave a Reply

