Skip to content

My First Christian Concert

April 6, 2007
by

I hate calling it that. Kind of like calling a university Christian, that is a label for people not events, places or music. People can be Christ-followers but music can only sing about Christ, schools can only teach about Christ, but hey I have enough hang ups in this world to worry about more.

Anyway, my first concert was actually Hall & Oates and the Big Bam Boom tour. I’m not afraid to admit it. Those two Philly guys put out some great music. I mean Private Eyes is an American Classic I dare say. This is not the concert I want to talk about, nor is the fact that both I and the guy I went with wore the identical combination of concert shirt and black corduroy shorts the following day. That made for great conversation in the halls of our small high school.

No I wanted to talk about my first concert with a band that had lyrics that honored God. At this point in my life I had been a Christ-follower for three years and growing up in the a capella Church of Christ left me totally unaware of any other group beyond Acapella. I to this day remember going to Wichita, Kansas for youth activities where Acapella was the big draw.

I still don’t get that entire scene. I mean when I go to the Tulsa Soul Winning Workshop I am still amazed about how excited people get to see Acapella and the amount of music they sell blows me away. It just wasn’t for me. I remember going to Central Church of Christ and others and everyone was just so excited to hear Acapella. To date myself, this was still when Keith Lancaster fronted the group. I typically found reasons to get outside during the concerts.

I actually stumbled across this concert while listening to the local regular radio station. One of the DJ’s was a Christ-follower so he was promoting the event. My CoC was one of those CoC’s, some Sundays I actually walked out of sermons in those days, so we certainly didn’t have any advertisements for this concert.

The radio station played a couple of the groups songs and I decided to give it a shot.

It was the Newsboys long before they became the Newsboys. They were traveling to Colorado and had an open night so they stopped to do a show in Dodge City, Kansas. It was back when they released Not Ashamed.

I took a friend from the church and we went to the concert. I still remember watching all of the kids down front jumping around having a good time while my friend and I sat in the back with our hands in our laps. We had no idea what to do. It was totally culture shock. We simply were not prepared to enjoy Christian music. It was too much. At one point I am sitting back there tapping my leg and bobbing my head feeling like I have done something wrong knowing I hadn’t.

By the end of the concert I actually stood up and clapped, I know I was a rebel. I was hooked that day. This is back when there wasn’t a lot of music with Christian themes. I began to go to the Christian bookstore looking for good music. I loved music, I had over 200 albums at the time of groups like the Cranberry’s and the Hot House Flowers.

Now I have a wall of Christian themed music that has helped me grow as a Christ-follower. I pastor at a church with a band and I realize I was never made for the Acapella crowd. I never fit musically or theologically, it never made sense. Today as Easter approaches I was just reminded that just like I left those Church of Christ buildings because I didn’t get Acapella concerts, it was only a matter of time until I left those buildings for good. I was made by God to worship with music. It was a part of His plan for His glory. How interesting when you finally understand the big picture.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2007 3:36 pm

    I remember seeing Micheal W. Smith and DC Talk at ACU of all places as my first Christian concert. As a CoC it was a big deal in Abilene but then an open door for other great artists to perform at ACU. Praise God!
    Darin I hope you have a Great Easter!

  2. April 7, 2007 3:45 pm

    Preacherman, if only I had grown up in the ACU crowd instead of the Freed crowd things might have been different.

    I hope to get a chance to post about Easter next week. I am hoping it is good.

    Thanks for dropping in.

Leave a Reply

