Skip to content

REO Speedwagon and Jesus

April 5, 2007
by

Yes that is what I said, REO Speedwagon and Jesus. My wife subscribes to an online music store called Rhapsody. For a small monthly fee she gets access to all of their music on the internet. It allows her to listen to songs without purchasing them. From time to time I get on the site when she isn’t using it at work and listen to different albums that I would never buy.

Today for some reason I picked REO Speedwagon. I really don’t know why. I remember their music from the 80’s and Hi Infidelity was my first introduction to their pop rock sound. So what does this have to do with Jesus, good question.

I went to the album list and picked out one called Essentials. I didn’t even look at the songs I just figured if it was a greatest hits album it would have what I wanted, was I ever wrong. Sophisticated Lady? Music Man? These were REO Speedwagon songs I had never heard and certainly wasn’t what I expected. It was a totally different sound than I was accustom to. I eventually turned off the album and picked ones with songs I actually remember.

Still, what does this have to do with Jesus, I know I know. It reminds me of how I sometimes approach Jesus teaching. It is easy for me to get into a certain sound when it comes to His words. Certain parts can be appealing so I tend to focus on those teachings. Other ideas may not be either as familiar or as fond. When I run into those sounds what do I do? Do I deny Jesus really meant what he said? Do I look for more appealing words?

I think I often approach Jesus and God in the same way I approached REO Speedwagon. Let me change the channel to a message that is more appealing for me, that sounds right. Jesus challenged his followers, he forgave and he helped those in need. He called for purity and he warned us to take care of problems before they mushroomed. It is too easy to romanticize His words without dealing with all that he taught.

May I embrace all of His challenges and promises equally as I follow Him more and more.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2007 11:16 am

    Me too! Open my eyes Lord, to what you want me to see, not what I want to see.

  2. April 5, 2007 5:25 pm

    Didn’t some of REO speedwagon go to Lipscomb or have some connection there?

  3. April 5, 2007 8:10 pm

    I have no idea but now I am curious.

  4. April 6, 2007 2:05 am

    I remember getting something from Lipscomb in the mail in 1996 that was a promo to try to get students to come to something. It was from one of the members of the band. I don’t remember what it said but it seems like there was a connection.

  5. April 6, 2007 1:18 pm

    I called Lipscomb but I couldn’t get ahold of the alumni person.

  6. April 6, 2007 3:57 pm

    Ok, that Lipscomb thing is just weird.

    It is very difficult for us to see things differently than the way we have been taught to filter them.

Leave a Reply

